We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a treat”

Haute Cabriere Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 80 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Franschhoek's iconic Haute Cabriere Restaurant is well known for its unique location, set into the side of Franschhoek Mountain and overlooking the Valley. Soaring arches and the view over the cathedral-like Pinot Noir Barrel Maturation Cellar below offer an experience which is not to be missed. On sunny days, guests can enjoy the beautiful vistas over Franschhoek from the terrace, while on cool days a roaring fire creates a cosy atmosphere. The menu revolves around classic technique with bold flavours with chefs Nic van Wyk and Westley Muller in the kitchen. The flavours and textures on the plate are specifically designed to complement the range of Haute Cabrière wines and Pierre Jourdan Cap Classiques - all of them served by the glass and by the bottle at cellar door prices. Bringing all of these elements together, Haute Cabrière offers the true marriage of food and wine.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a must visit place when in Franschhoek - roaring log fire, very friendly team and good atmosphere. The food could be described as a little over elaborate perhaps but shows great combinations and is well seasoned and tasty. There are good touches with little aperitifs, pre starters and pre desserts all brought with the chef's compliments. Will definitely go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rupert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin494, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Hi Rupert E,

Thank you for visiting and taking the time to post your review. We are very proud of our staff and food & wine and appreciate all feedback as this is the only way we will ever improve.
We look forward to your next visit with us and perhaps the weather will be a little sunnier so we don't need the fire and you can sit outside admiring the Franschhoek Valley below.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
There are newer reviews for Haute Cabriere Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 444 of 608 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Haute Cabriere has been on our bucket list but we always seemed to be rushing thought franschoek. The day was stunning and we were able to sit outside and take in the beautiful views of the valley. Service was top draw, admittedly they we were not busy, the meal delicious and a good portion and very well complemented with Belle Rose.

Thank DavidBo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin494, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hi DavidBo48,
Your comments are very much appreciated and we're so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. I trust you have a very long 'bucket list' and hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The food and wine pairing was excellent - the food was of an amazing quality with fresh ingredients and just sublime.

Thank AnisaVisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin494, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Hi AnisaVisser,

Thank you for visiting and taking the time to post a review - we look forward to seeing you again sometime soon!

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We've visited Haute Cabriere a few times and each visit never fails to meet our expectations.

The food is great and the service just as good.

I'd give this restaurant a 5 out of 5. There's really nothing I think they can improve on.

Thank CJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin494, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Hi CJ M,

Many thanks for those kind word, we really appreciate your feedback and glad you had such a wonderful time with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We enjoyed the various MCC/wine tastings on offer, but found the price of the tastings a little steep with no discount given if you did choose to buy wines afterwards.
We did appreciate that we could taste the Reserve MCC, which was in the higher priced tasting.
What did surprise us was that when we did buy a couple of the more expensive MSS sparkling wines, they were not packed in a secure cardboard box, just with a mesh slip-over covering that gave some protection, but one would expect them to be packed in more sturdy packaging, which one could have bought for R15 a box. A little cheeky we thought.
The service we got from the wine steward was great.
The cashier was a little indifferent when I mentioned what I would have expected when spending a few hundred rand on two bottles of MCC and didn't acknowledge my suggestion to mention it to her management, which blunted our experience a little.
But they still make some great MCC;s!

Thank AbrieDeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haute Cabriere Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Haute Cabriere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing