We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Vue Guest House
Ranked #46 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
cheshire uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning Location”
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed for 4 days and were lucky enough to be in Patio Room 4 , which had the most amazing mountain views overlooking the pool.With its own personal large veranda to enjoy a cold glass of south africans best! ( which you could chill in the communal fridge)
Breakfast was served in the large dining room, again overlooking the mountains - juice, cereal, yogurts and toast with a hot breakfast of eggs, bacon and tomato, with tea or coffee; all served freshly and without a wait.
Close to the main street in Franschhoek, about a 5 minute walk and ideally placed for all the attractions in and around. Extremely peaceful and relaxing.
Lovely hosts Michael and Grace were very happy to suggest lots of places and help with directions.
Fantastic location, for a very reasonable price - would reccommend

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrssmithuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    25
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Stayed for two nights with my extended family in Apr 2010. It's located very close to the centre (literally 5 mins walk) - so great for going out in the evening without the car. Grace was a warm and helpful host - organising babysitters, recommending vineyards and restaurants, and making tea in the afternoon!

The location is stunning with the backdrop of the hills - perfect for taking a dip in the pool and relaxing with the view afterwards...

Rooms were large and very comfortable.

Great stay - would happily go back again next time we're over in SA.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regina81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Cape Vue guesthouse for 2 nights. We wished we would have stayed longer. Our room had an amazing view of the mountains and vineyards. Grace, the owner made us great dinner reservations every night. The guesthouse is located outside the town, but only a 2 minute drive. We actually preferred being outside the town because the guesthouse is surrounded by nature and very peaceful with plenty of space. Our room was very large with a nice big bathroom. We had a hot cooked breakfast for us every morning and could eat outside looking at the beautiful view of the mountains. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lam3321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

We spent 2 days at this B&B. We stayed with our young son in the Patio room which was large, clean and airy. Hospitality was top notch, we felt looked after and cared for by the owners who were kind and very helpful. The large beautiful gardens and pool are beautifully kept and the location is excellent, a short drive to town. The cost of the stay was very reasonable and we will hopefully get to stay at the B&B again soon.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed 1 night in Cape Vue as part of our Cape Town and Garden Route tour with our 2 student children. We booked Cape Vue after phoning a few other guesthouses and being put off by high prices. We paid ZAR275 per person. Each room has its own entrance and patio. The rooms were very clean and we found the owners very polite and helpful. Breakfast included bacon and egg plus a good buffet in an enormous lounge which also had TV with a good range of satellite stations and a roaring fire.
Accomodation is very close to the Huguenot memorial at the top of the main streets and the gardens and small swimming pool are set against a backdrop of beautiful mountain scenery

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
8.1 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#16 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#5 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#26 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
3 on Roux
3 on Roux
#44 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cottage on 55
The Cottage on 55
#37 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.6 mi away
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
#52 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Vue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Vue Guest House

Property: Cape Vue Guest House
Address: 1 Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Vue Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing