We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Vue Guest House
Ranked #49 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Second stop after being recommended as a perfect location for wine route and didnt disappoint. Very clean and welcoming and lovely breakfast. Good location, easy walk to town for bars and shops.

Not a boutique hotel but a homely old fashioned guest house. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 79 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend were looking for a place to stay in Franschhoek for the long weekend and everything was booked out...until we came across Cape Vue Guest House. It is honestly a 2 minute walk from the main road (And all the attractions) and situated on the most beautiful vineyard. Grace and Michael are the most accommodating and friendly hosts you could ask for. We were looking at something well priced and could not have asked for better accommodation. Even though it is only 3 Star rated, I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for top class accommodation in Franschhoek. We'll visit again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was looking for a place in Franshhoek for a nice weekend away with my partner that wasn't exorbitantly priced and stumbled across Cape Vue on Tripadvisor. Very glad I did! Incredibly nice for the price and so close to town. We were able to walk into town for dinner. Very convenient, clean and breakfast included! Best place in town for this price. Recommended!

Room Tip: Try get a room with its own patio. Shared veranda is nice but the bit more u spend for the private p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marek89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Grace is a lovely, friendly lady. Great accomodation, beautiful surroudings! when we stayed here the weather was really bad. I can imagine this place looks and feels like paradise when the sun is shining! Lots of things to do in the wine region. We went for example for a picknick at Warwick Wine Club (very relaxing) and visited a bird park. Franschoek is beautiful with nice lunch bars and restaurants and nice little shops.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Franschhoek is on vogue. Hotels, guesthouses and restaurants are top but price are going up, especially for accomodation. Cape Vue is one of the remaining 3 star guest houses but can clearly compete with 4 star places. Situiated close to the Hugenotte monument it is the perfect place to walk into the village and have dinner with lovely wine from the valley. Grace and Michael are very friendly and helpful hosts which know a lot about Franschhoek's hsitory. Rooms are large, quiet, breakfast is very good. Franschhoek is a place where we always go to on our regular trips to Southafrica, Cape Vue is clearly the guethouse we prefer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernd Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were only able to stay one night but given the time would have loved to spend more time. Grace was a lovely host and made a number of calls to check on wineries, book a restaurant and arrange transport. The B & B itself is lovely with great views and an easy walk to town. The breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopjud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Grace and Michael are simply delightful hosts. A tranquil setting in the beautiful wine region of Franschhoek. You will struggle to find better views paying 5 times the price of a room at Cape Vue. As a regular visitor to Franschhoek I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#10 of 64 in Franschhoek
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
8.1 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#15 of 64 in Franschhoek
296 reviews
5.8 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Vue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Vue Guest House

Address: 1 Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Vue Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing