We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All one could ask for at a reasonable price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Vue Guest House
Ranked #45 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“All one could ask for at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were only able to stay one night but given the time would have loved to spend more time. Grace was a lovely host and made a number of calls to check on wineries, book a restaurant and arrange transport. The B & B itself is lovely with great views and an easy walk to town. The breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopjud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    25
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Grace and Michael are simply delightful hosts. A tranquil setting in the beautiful wine region of Franschhoek. You will struggle to find better views paying 5 times the price of a room at Cape Vue. As a regular visitor to Franschhoek I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had booked a room at Akkerdal, but unfortunately something went wrong with our booking.
Instead we stayed one night at Cape Vue.
The pool with an amazing view was lovely, the owners really friendly and the location excellent.
We visited the city centre of Franschhoek by foot, walked back after dinner and felt absolutely safe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veerkuysters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

If they had a 10 rating the Cape Vue Guest House would get one. We arrived to this absolutely stunning view and was warmly greeted by Grace who immediately offered us french press coffee and roobois tea. We sat on the porch surrounded (360 degrees) by one of the most beautiful scenes. It is like Switzerland and Napa Valley came together. The rooms, sitting parlor and personal porches finished off the experience. I cannot rave about it enough. My best friend who travels for a major banking company and stays in the best hotels in the US said it is the best place in the world he has ever stayed and cannot believe it only got a 3 star rating. He sat on his personal porch for hours just smoking his cigar and sipping the excellent wine we had purchased that day. The breakfast was very nice also. PLEASE STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

If you love wine, food and a nice place to stay - got to Franschhoek and visit this lovely guest house. The owners are really welcoming and serviceminded. The breakfast is perfect and sit outside and enjoy the Vue!
A swede that will return

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGPSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

My girlfriend and i travelled here in early November and had a such a nice stay. The old farmhouse is beautiful, with magnificent views across the valley. The guest house was perfectly situated to explore the town of Franschhoek and the surround wine farms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liestal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We could only stay for one night as we didn't check the availability before - but definitively would have stayed a night more if possible.

We had a nice, clean room with a double and one single bed and a veranda to the outside to the pool. The pool itself wasn't clean and could have used some fresh water.

The view was really nice and we bathed in the sun instead of the pool.
Breakfast was fresh and good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
8.1 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#16 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#27 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
3 on Roux
3 on Roux
#47 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cottage on 55
The Cottage on 55
#36 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.6 mi away
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
#51 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Vue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Vue Guest House

Property: Cape Vue Guest House
Address: 1 Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Vue Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing