We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy cottage for two”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I recently enjoyed a stay at the Oak Cottage at Bo La Motte Farm. Communication during booking was prompt and helpful, and full directions to the farm were provided in advance. We had no problems locating the place and were met with friendly staff on arrival.

Oak Cottage is a one bedroom unit toward the back of the property. It is in a lovely rural setting with grapevines trailing over the porch with leaves just turning red. Beautiful. The cottage itself was spacious and well furnished. The bed was comfortable, bathroom huge and lounge/dining/kitchen area nicely set up. The unit was very clean and well equipped.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful. They spent quite a bit of time helping us choose which wineries to visit, made recommendations and bookings for a special dinner (excellent choice by the way!) and were on hand at all times when we needed advice or assistance.

I would recommend Bo La Motte Farm Cottages to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluegoldhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 136 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had an awesome time in Franschhoek on a cold and wet weekend but luckily Bo Lamotte made us feel right at home with a fireplace and awesome service.

The units are equipped with electric blankets, which my wife loved.

Wood was supplied and the units are serviced everyday. They even pack the fireplace for you while you are out exploring the town and one of many wineries in the region.

We will definitely be back with friends and family and try to book out the whole place next.

Thanks

Jacques & Elli

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pencilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent a night at Goose Cottage and it was absolutely wonderful. The cottage itself is decorated beautifully and there was everything we needed. The setting is exquisite, set between the Franschoek mountains on a working farm. The manager, Anneke, was so friendly and professional and made us feel at home from the second we arrived. It is great value for money. I would recommend these self catering cottages to all my friends as it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

One of the rare places one can recommend without any reservation.

The service is personal and very friendly. One feel at home from driving up from the entrance, the friendly reception, up to the picturesque Pear Cottage itself.

The cottages are spaced out and you are not aware of any other guests.

Bo La Motte is a working farm and the kids loved the boisterous dogs, hens and clattering tractor one occasionally saw.

Franschhoek accommodation can be very expensive, but this place is excellent value. It is a destination in itself.

We concurred that we should have spent our entire holiday at Bo La Motte.

If we visit Franscchoek again we will not consider any other accommodation.

Room Tip: We loved Pear Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My brother booked several of the cottages at Bo La Motte for our first two nights in Franschhoek. We were mesmerized by the perfect views of the mountains and vines. We had a lovely cookout the night of our arrival, enjoying the patio area of one of the cottages and the nicely appointed kitchen. Our room in one of the 2-bedroom cottages (Milkwood) was absolutely wonderful with a big comfortable bed, pretty ceiling fan, bamboo ceiling, and large bureau. There are several sweet farm dogs that run around the property, and we enjoyed visiting with them. Would've been happy to spend many more nights in this beautiful cottage!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RUindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

With a wonderful greeting from management and three sweet dogs, we stayed in a cute, comfortable and spotless cottage.

We stayed in the Orchard Cottage with three bedrooms with six beds (to be configured to your requests) three full bathrooms, living room, dining room and kitchen. The outdoor patio for dining w/ bbq and large back yard to view the stars and mountains made it an extremely peaceful stay.

Bathrooms appear to be newly remodeled and down comforters are just one of the nice unexpected touches throughout the cottage.

A great place to run in the morning - and just a quick mile to the town w/ nice shopping and places to dine.

Our group of five did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We booked at short notice and Lindi squeezed us into their annex for the night. Although she noted it was not quite up to their four star rating, it was still a very attractive, large, comfortable and well furnished unit - we would have loved to stay longer. Lindi was very helpful about things to see/vineyards to visit in our short stay. I would definitely recommend Bo La Motte to anyone, they are excellent value.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex off the main house - beware, it is near the poultry area and there is an earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwisailorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
10.3 mi away
Boschendal Cottages
Boschendal Cottages
#6 of 42 in Franschhoek
113 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fransvliet Guest House
Fransvliet Guest House
#1 of 42 in Franschhoek
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bo La Motte Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo La Motte Farm Cottages

Address: Bo La Motte Farm | Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: $80 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bo La Motte Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Middagkrans mountain and only a ten-minute walk from the beautiful village of Franschhoek, lies the historic Bo La Motte Farm, which has been returned to its 'Wine Farm' origins with the harvest being processed in the restored wine cellar. Only ten minutes walk from Franschhoek village, the gourmet centre of South Africa, Bo La Motte Wine Farm has five beautifully furnished self-catering cottages, all in their own unique settings around the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bo La Motte Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing