We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cottage in a vineyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in Oak Cottage which was a perfect spot to spend the last few days of our SA trip. We were made very welcome and given lots of good advice on things to do and places to eat - of which there are many excellent ones! The weather was a little cold and wet on day two but the cottage was so well equipped and comfortable that it was no problem to stay in and enjoy some SA wine while watching sport on cable TV! On the other days, we were able to get out and enjoy Franschhoek and the nearby Mont Rochelle Nature Reserve which has great walks in wonderful scenery. A pleasant 10 minute stroll from Oak Cottage to the centre of Franschhoek. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved Oak Cottage which was perfect for a couple.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 135 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Orchard cottage is a sanctuary with an idyllic mountain backdrop surrounded by vineyards. The cottage itself is modern and spacious and the bedrooms comfortable and well appointed. There is an outside dining area with a brai (barbeque) and a lovely rose edged garden, perfect for sun downers or chilling after a hard days wine tasting.
There were six of us and we had more than enough living space not to be on top of each other.
The ladies and gents who run the estate were very friendly and helped us arrange a wine tour at no notice. They possessed a wealth of local knowledge and provided practical advice on making the most of what Franschoek had to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickyMNcle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We only spent one night at Bo La Motte and had a wonderful time. The cottage felt homely and spacious, was tastefully furnished and very clean. The kitchen was fully equipped and the beds very comfy. Despite the cold, rainy weather, we were surrounded by beautiful views and the fire was very welcome in the evening. Lindi was friendly and helpful and provided a suitable toddler bed for our two year old. The six dogs were also a hit. It was a lovely break and we hope to return, for a longer stay, in the future. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent the long weekend in September in the Orchard Cottage, (one of five on offer at the Bo La Motte venue) Very nice furnishings and good quality bed inen etc. Four Paws is their estate wine and really deserves a mention...a nice ful lbodied red - Orchard cottage has three bedrooms with all 3 en suite which is really welcome. The main point that we felt was a winner for this property, was that it is serviced daily !!! Lindi the lady at reception is very sweet and most accomodating so all in all a lovely venue to just chill or walk to the town centre for fine dining.
The only downside was the lack of fish (trout) in the 3 fishing dams. Lindi did promise to address this as it is a perfect venue for the casual fly fisherman to cast a line. Friendly dogs, cats and squirrels... round of a great Franschhoek destination.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoLa M, Manager at Bo La Motte Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks so much for your lovely review! So glad you all enjoyed yourselves so much! I also wanted to thank you again for bringing to light the problem of fish poachers at our dams! I am still reeling from this, as we never saw it coming and just 3 weeks ago some guests of ours were still pulling out good sized trout! We are currently looking into ways of securing the dams to prevent this in the future, as we too believe it to be a lovely spot for fishing and would like to see many more happy fisher-folk coming to use the facilities! So yes, re-stocking is underway and we hope to see you casting your lines here again soon!

All the best,
Lindi & the Bo La Motte team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed. The staff was excellent, and the setting was perfect. We stayed 2 nights during our week in Cape Town, and could have stayed much longer. We stayed in the Goose Cottage (2 couples), and thought it was perfect. 2 bedrooms, 2 full baths, fireplace, full kitchen, and excellent decoration. Everything was very clean.

Very highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldWideAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at bo la motte for just one night, which was too short. The cottages are in the middle of the winefields, with a view that is priceless! They paid attention to all the details! The champagne of the next door neighbor colmant was ready to open, the place was very clean and the braai (the only weber I saw on our trip) was ready to use! I would recommend everybody to stay at bo la motte when visiting fransschoek. One tip: buy your meat for the braai at 'the grillroom'. In the back of the restaurant there is a butcher where they sell the finest meat! And also pay a visit to the next door neighbor who has a winery of cape classique! Definately a worth trying!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frametta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We spent five nights at Bo La Motte but could have spent months there. The view from our window of the vines and the mountains was special. The place was very friendly and our 13 month old baby had such fun stroking the the dogs and watching the chickens be fed. The furnishings were immaculate and stylish and it felt very luxurious. We were 2 minutes from Franschhock, which has to be one of the most beautiful towns in the world. We will be visiting again and recommending to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CormacQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
10.3 mi away
Boschendal Cottages
Boschendal Cottages
#6 of 42 in Franschhoek
110 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fransvliet Guest House
Fransvliet Guest House
#1 of 42 in Franschhoek
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bo La Motte Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo La Motte Farm Cottages

Address: Bo La Motte Farm | Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: $82 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bo La Motte Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Middagkrans mountain and only a ten-minute walk from the beautiful village of Franschhoek, lies the historic Bo La Motte Farm, which has been returned to its 'Wine Farm' origins with the harvest being processed in the restored wine cellar. Only ten minutes walk from Franschhoek village, the gourmet centre of South Africa, Bo La Motte Wine Farm has five beautifully furnished self-catering cottages, all in their own unique settings around the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bo La Motte Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing