We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Franschhoek
Post
Inbox
Search

“Out of this World”
Review of La Petite Ferme

La Petite Ferme
Ranked #26 of 98 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Price range: $25 - $33
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Country style cuisine Restaurant. Boutique Hotel & Vineyard. Welcoming you to an authentic experience, with fresh local ingredients served by our friendly & professional team.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just a magical experience dining on the veranda with the sunset and the peacocks.
A beautiful property lived up to expectations. We only managed two courses of the excellent set menu just an amazing experience and recommend to other fine diners.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have enjoyed a number of fabulous meals here over the years but this visit (and the previous one) were really disappointing. So much so that when we are back in Franschhoek with some different friends who haven't been to SA before this April, we won't be bringing them here for a meal. Which is a REAL shame because it used to be so great! Perfect location, amazing views, peacocks strolling around, friendly staff, but the food has become and real let down. I do not know what has happened...maybe the kitchen staff have changed? Out of our whole stay in SA including 3 nights in CT and 4 nights in Franschhoek, this was our most disappointing meal. The ONLY dish that was reasonably nice was my starter of babotie balls. Everything else just seemed lack lustre. A real shame because it used to be fantastic and they are superbly located with the most unbelievable views. If we come back I think it would be just for a sundowner before heading off somewhere else for dinner. Shame.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Atkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a restaurant I’ve enjoyed before because of the superb location and beautiful views. The meal was fine apart from an underwhelming dessert and the waiter very pleasant and helpful. The reason why I won’t return though is I specially changed the day and time of my booking to book a terrace table and despite there being empty tables on the terrace we were shown to an inside table by the woman who appeared to be in charge. I could have made a fuss but it would only have spoiled the day even further it’s best to vote with my wallet

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank freddieg708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful setting with a view to die for....as you would expect the food is pretty tasty too. All the food we had in Franschoek was lovely and this was gorgeous also

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Bathtimerichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

My wife and 8 month old came here for dinner and the views are stunning. Amazing location and friendly staff who helped with taxi at end of night when we were stuck. They were very accommodating around or son who was delaying dinner. The food was lovely although my mussel dish has one to many ingredients in it. Could be stripped back a bit to the perfect meal. You should definitely book and come. Thanks again

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank armol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Ferme also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to La Petite Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing