We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views”
Review of La Petite Ferme

La Petite Ferme
Ranked #8 of 76 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Petite Ferme boasts unrivaled views and delicious cuisine. Our Vineyard and Manor House suites are amongst the best that Franschhoek Accommodation has to offer. A Franschhoek Restaurant that is situated high up on the mountain overlooking the Franschhoek Valley is world renowned for its approach to rustic contemporary cuisine. The award winning La Petite Ferme Winery takes its place amongst Franschhoek's finest cellars
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
104 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were told not to miss La Petite Ferme in Franschhoek and it was amazing. The views are fantastic and it was just a leisurely lazy lunch on the terrace! The service is good, the food was OK - I wouldn't rate it as the best food but the atmosphere and the setting of this place has it's charm. Our preference was for the starters, the main courses were all too big and we were so stuffed that we only managed coffees. Overall a great place to lunch with beautiful views and thoroughly relaxing place, but don't expect too much of the food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,012
    358
    149
    71
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went to one of the Friday evening "concerts" and were very impressed with the total experience. The food was not more than quite adequate, ie fine enough, but combined with the outstanding setting and really first class music it was a lovely experience.
Also a thank you to the serving staff, they were first class.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“lovely yard and setting”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stopped here after a few wine tastings - it was a great lunch but the view steals the show. We had a great time but the children rolling in the yard and other people pinicking probably enjoyed it even more. The food didn't blow us away but it was very good. Worth the trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

brilliant, food service and view. Excellent - best restaurant in Franschhoek..... Many other restaurants with ornate menus dont come close to the quality and homeliness of the menu on offer here.............................................

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL PLACE & GREAT FOOD”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

What can`t be bad - amazing views and amazing food.

La Petite Ferme came heavily recommended and totally lived up to its high praise.
A lovely table inside on the terrace with perfect service made for a wonderful lunch (not open in the evenings)
I opted for the local fish (Snoek)as a starter made up as a pate and my wife had the fishcakes and they were both excellent.
For the mains, we had steak and lamb and again these were perfectly cooked. This was all washed down with an excellent cabernet sauvignon from the farm and then topped off with the best cheese platter i have had in years.
In fact the people on the next table asked if the cheeses were as good as they looked and after i said yes they chose these to share and thanked us for the thumbs up!

After lunch we just sat on the bench in the garden looking at the rolling hillsides - truly heaven
Looking forward to spending a bit more time in Franschoek next year and returning to this wonderful establishment for lunch

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EssexBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Ferme also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to La Petite Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing