We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went back for breakfast”
Review of Cafe Des Arts

Cafe Des Arts
Ranked #17 of 78 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Based in the small village of Franschhoek in the Western Cape. Franschhoek is renowned world wide for Haut Cuisine and Fine Dining. Cafe des Arts is neither Haute Cuisine nor Fine Dining! Cafe des Arts is a simple, rustic, relaxed restaurant where all that matters is the food. There are no table cloths, no silver service and the food is from the pan to the plate. If you're lucky, you may even get some cutlery! -
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“So good we went back for breakfast”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

From theoutside this looks like a simple cafe, but we were so impressed with food, its presentation and friendly service, we went back for breakfast! Breakfast did not disappoint! We also bought some croissants and cinnamon twists to take away for later. Delicious. Art goes into the food not just on the walls. Great coffee. Love how they serve orange juice in a jar.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiveWorkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    177
    52
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Twice in One Week”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We liked this place so much, we ate here twice in one week. We liked that it was a casual place off the beaten path in town (it is actually down a small walkway set back from the main drag). And, the food was so fresh! We sat outside under the trees for lunch. We shared some tasty mussels. I had the duck pie, he had the mushroom pasta. Everything was great. The service was excellent, and the price, including wine, was very reasonable. I must say the portion sizes were large, so we took some leftovers home. The next time we went was for a light dinner. We sat inside. It is not fancy inside, but we enjoyed the artwork (for sale) on the walls. There is an open kitchen, so you can watch the food preparation. It was crowded that night, but the service and quality of the meals were excellent. The owners are hard workers and super nice. We will definitely go back, this is our type of place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtubatuba, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We decided to book at Cafe Des Arts on its rating with tripadvisor and although the food was very good, particularly the seared Tuna, its not worthy of its high ranking. We had lunch at Bread and wine ( ranked no1) the same day as we had dinner here and you cannot begin to compare the two Lacked that great service you would expect and the atmosphere was a little dull.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vumaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Dinner here was one of the best meals I've ever had . . . ever! My friend and I had the Kingsklip fish and my husband had the tuna. They were all amazing! Also, great service and a very friendly chef. I can't recommend highly enough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandHopperKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply a great restaurant”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We ate here on April 6 and had a great experience. The food was incredible, prepared with such care and passion and the service was fantastic. There are no pretences just great food, wine and service exactly as promised. If in Franschhoek don't miss it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 245MarkH245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Des Arts also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing