We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.”
Review of Cafe Des Arts

Cafe Des Arts
Ranked #15 of 76 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Based in the small village of Franschhoek in the Western Cape. Franschhoek is renowned world wide for Haut Cuisine and Fine Dining. Cafe des Arts is neither Haute Cuisine nor Fine Dining! Cafe des Arts is a simple, rustic, relaxed restaurant where all that matters is the food. There are no table cloths, no silver service and the food is from the pan to the plate. If you're lucky, you may even get some cutlery! -
west midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great food, good service, fair prices. A little tucked away just off the main street but not hard to find. Nothing pretentious , courtyard setting under the shade of trees which rather romantic. I had Kingklip which was very good indeed. I would recommend this eatery with no hesitation & would love to go back :-)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hedgerows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    177
    52
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Outdoor eating, plain cooking, nothing fancy, but what they serve up is first class food, I had a steak which was at least 12oz and was delicious. My favorite dessert was on the menu, Bread and Butter pudding, as good as my wife makes. We are back in Franshoek in 2014, and we certainly plan to eat here again. Prices extremely reasonable, about £35 for 3 courses, including wine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raymond65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most memorable”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I have been frequenting Café des Arts since its establishment for breakfast, lunch and special dinner occasions with family and friends. This is one of our all-time favourite restaurants in the Western Cape. Chris is an accomplished chef and innovative maverick with food – nothing fancy, always rustic but without exception a great and memorable meal – lasting flavours, exquisite combinations and taste that lingers. Always the freshest of ingredients – the food remains the main actor on the plate. Louise is wonderful hostess – the reception is always warm, friendly and with pizazz. Thank you for many memorable meals and fond memories.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
202 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“The food rocks”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you are looking for a restaurant that has no airs and graces, but serves food that does justice to the ingredients, then this is your place. We loved the blackboard menu, the wine suggestion, and the service. We had been advised to have the fish of the day, so had a Tuna and a Kingklip. Both dishes served meaty, fresh fish, that was not overcooked, well seasoned, and with stunning sauce.

The place was busy when we got there, and when we left. Very casual and very friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
330 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Plated Art”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

A serene setting under the trees that begs one to linger. The food presentation reminds of the great masters: Picasso, van gogh.... Marvellous. And to top it all off the ingredients are fresh and the food fantastic. Definitely a recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Des Arts also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing