We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Food”
Review of Cafe Des Arts

Cafe Des Arts
Ranked #16 of 76 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Based in the small village of Franschhoek in the Western Cape. Franschhoek is renowned world wide for Haut Cuisine and Fine Dining. Cafe des Arts is neither Haute Cuisine nor Fine Dining! Cafe des Arts is a simple, rustic, relaxed restaurant where all that matters is the food. There are no table cloths, no silver service and the food is from the pan to the plate. If you're lucky, you may even get some cutlery! -
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Brilliant Food”
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Great little restaurant with amazing food and lovely wine. There is no set menu, it is changed daily on a blackboard but everything we had was wonderful. Reservation recommended as it was very busy

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allstarsprog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    177
    52
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
alphamstone
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dreadful experience”
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We had the unfortunate experience of dining here earlier this year and it was dreadful,more like Fawlty Towers than a proper restaurant,we arrived early in the evening and the menu was presented on a tall,narrow blackboard which the waitress manhandled around the room,the supposed speciality of the chef is slow roasted duck which is cooked at a low heat for 8 hours,the meat removed and then the bones and carcass cooked with herbs for another 8 hours to produce a rich gravy,the whole being served on a bed of fruit,it read beautifully but the execution was poor,the food was cold,not even tepid,the chef to his credit offered to redo the dish but we declined,insult was then added when the waitress tried to justify the poor execution and presentation,we looked at each other and decided to put it down to experience but we will not dine there again.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waterford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A worthy successor to Topsi's . . .”
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I was told that Chris was one of Topsi's first colleagues @ Roggeland. However, being one of our favourite Cape restaurants it wasn’t without a little trepidation that we entered on the first night of our holiday. I’m pleased to report that the food was great and the acquisition of a licence makes matters a little easier if you’ve just arrived although given the local vineyards, corkage is always a good option. Service was good and involving and the presentation of the food and the integration of flavours matched this. All in all, a very pleasant start to our holiday.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TunaTownFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A little, somewhat undiscovered, gastronmic gem in Franschhoek”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

A simple review to say we are locals in Franschhoek, and Cafe Des Arts is a most wonderful, scrumptious eatery with a modest menu selection of delightful courses. We had grilled snapper the other night and could have sworn it came straight from the ocean. Topsi, former proprietor, must be proud of Chris, a magician in his open kitchen, who is also a doyen of delectale pastries and breads for those morning munchies.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelnut064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“amazing place!”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

at first sight it looks a bit simple............but it is just an amazing and relaxing experience! Menu written on a board, showing what is available at present. Chef himself gives good recommendation. fantastic and fresh food!!!!! very very friendly service! ood wines.
Definately my first choice in Franschhoek!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gelegentlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Des Arts also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing