We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Centre-Ville Guest House
Ranked #27 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“luxurious”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

A place to relax - the room we had was extremely luxurious and with large windows on two sides. Ouside space on the stoep and a pool to dip into. The central location is useful too - easy to sample the delights of Franschoek in a day. It was a treat to ourselves to stay in such a place for a night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertfordshireEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    71
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
218
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Excellent and centrally located guesthouse. Elsa and Jaco are wonderful and attentive hosts. They also provided good tips on Franschhoek area.Best breakfasts of all B&Bs where we have recently stayed. Would highly recommend this guest house when visiting Franschhoek.

Room Tip: While large bedroom was comfortable, needed to be careful not to bump head on sloping ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My family and I stayed here in December and it was our first visit to Franschoek. Elsa and Jaco were fantastic and knowledgable hosts. The location was ideal and you couldn't ask for more in your rooms, everything you could think of was there. One of the highlights were the magnificent homemade breakfasts and friendly service. Nothing was too much trouble, everything catered for. Arrived as guests and felt we left as friends. Definitely recommend to anyone staying in Franschoek.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, it is important to say that the position of this guest house is very close to the high street, which is great. The breakfast, as others have noted, is presented beautifully. The hosts were very helpful on the area. Please note, our comments are mostly based on the room 'sensational'.
We booked two nights here and on arrival were quite disappointed with our room. On entry we saw that the photo was a misrepresentation. If is not clear how low the ceiling is! There was a floor air conditioning unit that was very loud and interfering. The TV was very bulky (old style set) and barely had reception or any channels (note the air con meant you couldn't hear it anyway!) The mountain views described were hidden due to then being behind a loft window which had curtains which don't stay open, the furniture in the picture DO NOT match what is currently there. The picture obviously looks nicer! At night insects came out of the toilet (and the toilet doesn't flush very well - we even entered the new room seeing some toilet paper remaining in there from someone else) which ultimately led to us asking to move.

The actual house is tired and of need of a refresh. The pool area is claustrophobic and the pool and pool area seemed dirty and not well looked after.
When telling the owners of the toilet issue and insects all over, she was very fair and offered to move us. Her husband however did question the matter of there being ants in front of other guests, and understandably (since we had photos of the scene) I was insulted to be questioned and felt very awkward and demeaned. However it must be said we received a refund and help in finding a new guest house. If you do stay there, I would just be aware that sensational room is misrepresented on the website and you may want to consider paying more for a different room.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ll8555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaels, Owner at Centre-Ville Guest House, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
The guests were from the start when they arrived at the guest house not happy with their room and wanted another room and it was not possible because we were fully booked. The furniture in the room is exactly the same as shown on the website. Before them we had guests that stayed for 5 nights in the same room and they were very happy and had not complainants at all. Our guest house is definitely not run down and we would not deserve 4-stars if that is the case. It is very hard and almost impossible to please everybody BUT we really try our best and luckily most of our guest are returning and are very happy to stay with us. When guests book we tell them to view our website and to make sure that they are happy with their choice of room. The area at the pool is also the area that we serve our breakfast in the morning and is clean and very tidy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this cozy guest house for 2 nights in january 2014. The room was beautiful with charming details. The breakfast had everything you could wish for and a little bit more. The owners were really helpful and booked restaurant for us and gave us tips on where to go and what to do. The location of the guest house was perfect. I would highly recommend this guest house! //Martina

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We arrived in this beautiful village to find that a bottle of brandy had broken in my case. Elsa ,our host said she would wash my sodden clothes and do a load of our accumulated dirty washing! She refused any payment whatsoever.
The quality of this guesthouse is quite unbelievable and far better than any hotel we've stayed in and I include 5 star hotels and Boutique hotels all over the world. The layout of the breakfast table would put the Savoy to shame not to mention the beautiful breakfast which was the tastiest in over 2 weeks in South Africa.
The restaurants here are quite superb and Jaco will book tables for guests ( amazingly, he has memorised all the phone numbers of all the restaurants and other guesthouses!) .
Do not even think about staying anywhere else and treat yourself to the honeymoon room with the private patio for sunbathing.
Elsa, Jaco and of course the lovely and hardworking Brenda will spoil you like you've never been spoiled before.

Room Tip: Choose the Honeymoon Room with a private balcony for sunbathing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cymro100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
201 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed in Centre-Ville Guest House for 2 nights (we got a free upgrade!). We got a warm welcome by Jacu, who gave us a lot of tips regarding things to do and places to eat (go to Le Bon Vivant, amazing food, great wine). Our room was beautiful and convenient: good bed, bathroom with shower and bath tub. Everything was thought of! Breakfast (hot and cold) is served in the garden, which has a small splash pool.

Several wineries are within walking distance of the guesthouse (about 20-30 minutes, which is doable). Hiking in the Mont Rochelle should be great (we couldn't do it because of the fog)! Just ask Jacu if you want to know more about activities to do!

Room Tip: Room Indulgent is great (but other rooms are great too!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Ballon Rouge
Le Ballon Rouge
#19 of 63 in Franschhoek
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#12 of 63 in Franschhoek
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#8 of 63 in Franschhoek
565 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#14 of 63 in Franschhoek
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calais Guest House
Calais Guest House
#24 of 63 in Franschhoek
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centre-Ville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre-Ville Guest House

Property: Centre-Ville Guest House
Address: 9 Reservoir Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centre-Ville Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centre-Ville is a 4-Star Guest House in the center of the village within 3min walking distance to all the shops, galleries and village restaurants.This gracious Victorian Beauty was build in 1905 and has been fully renovated without losing the old world charm with origin floors and high ceilings.We have eight tastefully decorated en-suite rooms each with its own theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Centre-Ville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centre-Ville Hotel Franschhoek
Centre-Ville Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing