We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 night in Franschhoek”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Centre-Ville Guest House
Ranked #26 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“1 night in Franschhoek”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is without doubt the finest guest house I have ever stayed in. It is beautifully appointed, the hosts cannot do enough for their guests and welcomed us into their lovely home. The location is super and everything in the Town is within easy walking distance.When we inadvertently left some items of clothing behind they assisted me in ensuring that the items were returned to us. All in all a superb experience and we will return to Centre Ville next year.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter1961_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    70
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
217
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights here and loved our visit. Elsa gave us great advice on where to visit when there are so many wineries to choose from and her suggestions were excellent. Our room was very comfortable with lots of space - and lots of character!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaynaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very nice place to spend some days/nights. Elsa & Joaco so friendly and worried about our stay. Breakfast is good but it will be better if it has more variety. I.e. pancakes/hotcakes, french toast,

Helen and Alfred

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlfredoT544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaels, Owner at Centre-Ville Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Friends
Thank you for all the beautiful photos that you send us regarding the cherry Festival in America.
Thank you for the review. If you asked for Frensch Toast we would gladly have made it for you and we also make omelets if guests ask. We have such a variety of bread and fresh fruits/cheeses/yoghurt/fresh juice and cereals that it is most of the time more than our guest would expect and also the full cooked breakfast prepared to each guests choice. Next time just ask and we would gladly try to please you.

Kind regards
Elsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Jacob and Elsa made our first trip to South Africa unforgettable. They welcomed us into their home and nothing was any trouble. Good palce to base yourself for local golf courses and restaurants. Dutch East well recommended and value for money. Leopards Leap wine tasting well worth a try.

Room Tip: Explore recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 282AnitaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very comfortable and friendly stay.
We very much enjoyed our visit and the owners were very helpful in giving us information about what to do and where to visit in the area.
Delightful bedroom and the breakfasts were very good indeed,especially when eating outside around the pool.
Very good stay,Tony & Di Taylor

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

from the first to the last minute the owners went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable!

We got engaged the afternoon and Elsa made it very special.

She had champagne on ice and also booked dinner for us at Dutch East(one of the best restaurants I have been to)

It was our first time in Franschoek and they really made it very special for us

Superb breakfasts,2min walking from Franschoek main street,excellent,clean rooms
Very friendly staff

A gem in the abundance of B&B's in Franschoek

Room Tip: splendour-has its own private balcony with excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauritzf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Amazing hospitality in true South African style. Information of the surrounding area and attractions with personal recommendations make for a memorable destination. As an inveterate traveller I cannot imagine any bed and breakfast offering more for comfort and attention to detail.
Congratulations Elsa and Jaco

Room Tip: If one needs an afternoon nap the downstairs rooms are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Ballon Rouge
Le Ballon Rouge
#21 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#13 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Bella Casa
#50 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#14 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#15 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centre-Ville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre-Ville Guest House

Property: Centre-Ville Guest House
Address: 9 Reservoir Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centre-Ville Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centre-Ville is a 4-Star Guest House in the center of the village within 3min walking distance to all the shops, galleries and village restaurants.This gracious Victorian Beauty was build in 1905 and has been fully renovated without losing the old world charm with origin floors and high ceilings.We have eight tastefully decorated en-suite rooms each with its own theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Centre-Ville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centre-Ville Bed And Breakfast
Centre-Ville Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing