We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Centre-Ville Guest House
Ranked #26 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coulsdon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Franschhoek is one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited and Centre Ville epitomises the town perfectly.
The guest experience is superb and the accomodation is perfect. Elsa and Jaco mase us feel like very, very welcome members of their family and their recommendations were spot on. We were all sad to leave.

Incidentally make sure you take a wine tour if you visit Franschhoek. Never again will I be worried when tasting wine in a restaurant. Than you Aylmer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    71
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
219
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Have just stayed there for 2 days.

I would agree that the hosts are friendly and that the breakfasts good. Unfortunately I required to use the Internet for business.This did not work off my IPad so they recommended that I go to the local Internet cafe on the Main Street.I did this once on Sunday three times on Monday and once today. There was no questioned asked or offer to pay made.I felt this very much spoiled the stay.

Bedrooms located in roof Passion and Indulgent have low cielings and should be avoided if you are tall.

Car parking is possible for 4 cars but in tandem and whilst I was there I had to park on road which was safe and close.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaels, Owner at Centre-Ville Guest House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Sir
Unfortunately we cannot please everybody. The problem with the internet was a problem with the system and we were also not on line for 2 days (not receiving any emails) or could use the internet. There was really not anything that I could do about it. I did get in our IT person and he also could not solve the problem. Sorry that this made you gave us such a bad review. I offered you the use of my computer in the office but we were off-line and there was not much more that I could do.

Regards
Elsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We havejust spent one night in the very friendly and cosy guest house of Elsa & Jaco and would recommend it happily! We just stopped at their place and fortunately, they still had room for us and welcomed us very heartedly.

The guest house is situated in walking distance to the main road and shops & restaurants in Franschhoek.

We had a very spacious room ("Abundant") on the ground floor that has been decorated with much love and thought.

As we were able to see almost every room, we could see that each of them has a shower AND bathtub.

The outside area ist not too big, but still inviting to have a nice time when the sun is shining right into the ppool area. On sunny days, the recommendable breakfast is served outside which makes the start into the day even better.

Thank you for a great time in Franschhoek!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NyKris1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

A quick note to say what a fantastic place this was to stay! Great room, yummy breakfast and Elsa and Jaco were wonderful hosts. We even spent "dinner" one night in the reception room, with our hosts, and another couple sharing wine, cheese and crackers, and biltong. Highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuesnelTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Elsa and Jaco were very friendly and helpful, even before we arrived. The accommodation is very comfortable, and feels very close to home. The breakfasts were delicious and bountiful and enough to keep you going until lunchtime. The location is ideal for tourists who want to explore the restaurants in Franschhoek and for tourists who want to explore their heritage at the Hugenote monument and museum. It is also in close proximity to several vineyards and Elsa and Jaco are quite knowledgeable and eager to recommend restaurants in town for their guests to explore. I will most definitely stay at Centre-Ville Guest House again, should I visit Franschhoek again.

We stayed in the Comfort Room with a shower in the room. Elsa advised us of this beforehand and it was not as intrusive as one might think. There were plenty of public areas where we could sit and relax and we did not necessarily had to sit in the room. Elsa was also kind enough to arrange for a beautician to attend at Centre-Ville for a mani and pedi on the first morning of our stay. The amenities here are excellent and it is very comfortable to stay.

Room Tip: If you enquire about a booking, make sure where the room will be that Elsa will allocate to you. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is the kind of place one would love to go back to. The hosts are especially welcoming and took great care of one of our friends who was not feeling very well. Rooms are very clean, spacious, comfortable and individually decorated. Breakfast is of a better quality than the other B&Bs we stayed at. I definitely recommend!

Room Tip: The room with the terrace is definitely worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saliba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We booked into Centre Ville and were so happy we chose them.

We found Elsa and her husband Jacou very warm and welcoming.

They are very proud of their family run establishment and take pride in their B&B as well as other businesses in the area.

Their recommendations to various wine farms and restaurants were excellent and were happy to take time and speak to you and give you a personalised recommendation.

The location is excellent and located to amazing restaurants and thenvillage shops are within easy walking distance.

The room was very clean, tastefully decorated and felt very warm and homely. The breakfast was great, and the staff members always had a
smile in their faces. 

I would not hesitate in recommending their B&B to anybody who is staying in the Franschhoek area.

Thanks to Elsa and Jacou for making our time in Franschhoek special and we wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidlpuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#5 of 63 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#11 of 63 in Franschhoek
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#15 of 63 in Franschhoek
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#8 of 63 in Franschhoek
572 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#14 of 63 in Franschhoek
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calais Guest House
Calais Guest House
#25 of 63 in Franschhoek
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centre-Ville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre-Ville Guest House

Property: Centre-Ville Guest House
Address: 9 Reservoir Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centre-Ville Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centre-Ville is a 4-Star Guest House in the center of the village within 3min walking distance to all the shops, galleries and village restaurants.This gracious Victorian Beauty was build in 1905 and has been fully renovated without losing the old world charm with origin floors and high ceilings.We have eight tastefully decorated en-suite rooms each with its own theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Centre-Ville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centre-Ville Hotel Franschhoek
Centre-Ville Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing