We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy accomodation, delicious breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centre-Ville Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Centre-Ville Guest House
Ranked #25 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cozy accomodation, delicious breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed in Centre-ville for a couple of nights and it was fine, but nothing to write home about. The location is superb (it's only a block from the center of Franschoek), but the rooms can get chilly at night and the service was spotty.

The ladies who served breakfast were incredibly sweet and they made a delicious breakfast, but the hostess who greeted us was a bit scattered. They had double-booked our room by accident and she tried to put us in a room with a smaller bed. When we asked to be put in a king-size room as we had booked, she obliged but then neglected to give us a key to the new room. We also had to ask her what her name was (she did not introduce herself) as well as the internet passcode. The internet is very slow and the TV is quite old. The bathroom was very nice, however.

It was a bit of an odd experience but thankfully there is so much to do in Franschoek / Stellenbosch that you don't end up spending much time in the room anyways!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have higher ceilings but be careful about corner rooms - they can get very chilly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    68
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
212
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

A big South African welcome from Elsa and Jaco made you feel instantly at home. Attention to detail is what stands out at this guest house - the toiletries in the bathroom, bottled water and even a bottle of sherry and glasses in the room, lovely buffet breakfast served at beautifully dressed tables. Elsa organised a wine tasting day for us and was on hand and happy to help with whatever advice/arrangements we needed. Located within walking distance to the main thoroughfare with all the shops and restaurants. Our room - on the ground floor - was beautifully decorated in a pine theme and was both spacious and comfortable. Would highly recommend this guesthouse to any travelling to Franschhoek.

Room Tip: Elsa showed us round all the rooms and from our quick viewing they all seemed to be to the same high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

The beautiful valley of Franshoek is sprinkled with guest houses and boutique hotels, and Centre Ville is a place we return to again and again simply for the heartfelt warmth of the welcome we receive there. Elsa maintains a high standard - her buffet breakfast is generous, with an array of fresh fruits, delicious yogurt, quality bread and jams. The beds are comfortable, and the feeling there is one of gentle pampering. I love the high ceilings in the downstairs rooms. I can highly recommend to locals wanting an authentic place to stay for a night or weekend, and to tourists who want South African hospitality. We ate at Haute Cabriere and can recommend this for the superb view across the valley and the outstanding food and service in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have high ceilings but tend to be noisy - wooden floors can be creaky - but these a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tillicoultry
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed at Centre- Ville Guest House from 12 to 19 April 2012. The purpose of our visit was to attend a family wedding. Prior to travelling we looked at various accommodation options in Franschhoek and opted for Centre-Ville as it fitted our needs regarding dates. We could not have made a better choice as we found every thing about the place excellent. Elsa and Jaco were perfect hosts and their small staff brilliant in all aspects of their work. The breakfast choice suited all tastes and was well prepared. Our room ( Indulgent) was very comfortable and all in all we could not fault anything. Our thanks go to Elsa and Jaco for making our stay in their home a wonderful experience that we will always remember.

Room Tip: Read the rooms descriptions on the Guest House web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neilcTillicoultry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level Contributor
200 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We spent two nights at Centre-Ville. Else was a wonderful host and very helpful in planning our day. Our room was on the main floor and large and comfortable. We had a claw foot tub and a shower. I appreciated the soaps and lotions after being on the road for many days. The outside terrace is very nice and we ate breakfast there both days. Bright colored green blankets were on the back of each chair to keep the morning chill off. The second night we decided to have a picnic for dinner rather than go out again. Else saw us sitting on the terrace and immediately brought us a cutting board, knife, napkins, and wine glasses to make our picnic more enjoyable. The guest house is close to some very nice wineries and a short walk from the main street of Franschhoek, where there are many cute shops and restaurants. The Saturday market was lots of fun to walk through. Wifi was good in the living area of the guest house. Else's staff were all friendly and helpful and went out of their way for us.

Room Tip: Our room was the corner front room and very nice. The upstairs room with doors to the roof deck loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnjm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Else and Jaco were wonderful, helpful, and did what they needed to to help with the stay. Good breakfasts, location very near the main drag, free internet, reception a bit difficult in some areas of the guest house. We had a smallish room on the second floor (first floor for you English), the sloping roof made the room quite small. but, to be honest, we only slept there! The rooms on the ground floor were massive in comparison, so try to secure one of these is you want a lot of room. 4 big rooms on the ground floor, 5 smaller on the second.
Good restaurants, good wine tours (and good wine) - absolutely worth a visit.

Room Tip: See comments above. The big rooms may be more expensive than the smaller second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobnob13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Can I start off by saying that Elsa & Jaco were excellent hosts, they were very friendly and they were very forthcoming with information about Franschhoek.
The breakfast was delicious on both mornings, with a very tasty cooked breakfast, fresh bread and plenty of options for a cold breakfast.
There was a lovely area to relax in by the pool and the honesty bar certainly helped us to relax.
I would certainly recommend booking a wine tour with Elsa & Jaco's daughter. She works in the wine industry and her knowledge was excellent.
So why the average rating, it was because of the room "Passion"
The quality of sleep that we had on both nights was very poor. The room was very noisy, we were awake early each morning. You could hear the comings and goings of the other guests as they had their early breakfasts. The curtains were also very poor meaning that the early morning sun poured into the room each morning. This did not help with the sleep either.
There is no shower in the room, instead there is a bath in the middle of the bedroom with a shower hose. Water ended up all over the bedroom floor each time one of us had a shower.
The toilet does not really have its own room. There is a door like you would see in a clothes shop changing room to protect your modesty, that is if you can get the door to stay closed.
I'm sure there are much bigger and better rooms in Centreville, but seeing as it was peak season when we visited we ended up in "Passion".
The location I must say is excellent, about a two minute walk to the main street.
So if you are staying in Centreville choose your room carefully

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaels, Owner at Centre-Ville Guest House, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank your for your review and all the positive things you had to say about our hospitality.
Room Passion is clearly advertise as a room with NO SHOWER and only a spa-bath IN THE ROOM.Guests are informed about that when they book through Booking.com and also when they contact us direct. We always tell our guests to fill the bath above the nozzles before starting the bath as a spa-bath otherwise they will shower the whole room. The shower-hose is only for rinsing your hair.
The quality of the curtains are to my knowledge very good because they are block-out curtains and if they are closed in a proper way there is no way that the sun can come through. Some of our guests do get up early and it is not always easy to tell people to be quiet and we are very sorry about that. We really want our guests to be as comfortable and relaxed as possible.
Please make sure that your book one of the beautiful rooms on the ground floor next time . We would really like our guests to tell us about their experience before leaving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Ballon Rouge
Le Ballon Rouge
#16 of 65 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#13 of 65 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#19 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#12 of 65 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Bella Casa
#51 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centre-Ville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre-Ville Guest House

Property: Centre-Ville Guest House
Address: 9 Reservoir Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centre-Ville Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centre-Ville is a 4-Star Guest House in the center of the village within 3min walking distance to all the shops, galleries and village restaurants.This gracious Victorian Beauty was build in 1905 and has been fully renovated without losing the old world charm with origin floors and high ceilings.We have eight tastefully decorated en-suite rooms each with its own theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Centre-Ville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centre-Ville Hotel Franschhoek
Centre-Ville Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing