We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal stay for exploring the town”
Review of Le Ballon Rouge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Ballon Rouge
Ranked #22 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Our room no. 7 was spacious and I liked the furniture and the bathroom. The only thing we missed was a small fridge.
The breakfast was very good, too.
Despite the guesthouse being located in centre of town it was quiet and safe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Le Ballon Rouge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 308 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

A beautifully presented ensuite room. Clean, pleasantly decorated and a good size for a couple. Le Ballon Rouge is centrally located, within 3min walking distance of the main strip - and yet reasonably priced (with a pool!). Our breakfast was included in the price of the room and was without a doubt, the best breakfast we had in South Africa. The staff were helpful and polite and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Le Ballon Rouge to our friends!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We've spent one night at Le Ballon Rouge. We had 2 rooms of different prices but both were great. Location is perfect, breakfast was good and rooms were clean and pretty. The reception closes at 6 pm and if you need anything you must call a number.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank donkaminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Rooms were lovely, comfortable, clean and well-maintained. Reception helped us with booking a wine tour and driver for the day, kept our bags safe until we could check-in, and brought a bottle of MCC to our room promptly after we requested it. This guesthouse is walking distance to great restaurants and also offers a very nice breakfast. Highly recommend as a homebase while you explore Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were made to feel right at home and there was nothing that Jenny or David could not do for us. The setting of the guest house is just lovely, rooms spacious and breakfasts on the veranda are just idyllic. The short walk to the main high street gives you ample culinary delights to choose from without getting in a taxi. David turned out to be a great wine tour guide and took us to some lovely wine farms suited to our tastes. We got to hear some of the local history, while sampling the regions wines - making our rainy day most enjoyable!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We spent a lovely little break in this little guest house. Comfy room, little pool to enjoy, good breakfast, great staff. We recommend it.

Franschhoek is greet with lots to enjoy in the area.

--------

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

really Nice hotel close to the main street where all restaurants, bars and shops are located. Moreover, really close to the White Tram which brings you to the differents wineyards. Big and nicely decorated room. Amazing breakfast! Only negative points: internet is not free of charge and the swimming pool is really small.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aurelie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Fontaine Guest House
La Fontaine Guest House
#25 of 64 in Franschhoek
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#14 of 64 in Franschhoek
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Centre-Ville Guest House
Centre-Ville Guest House
#27 of 64 in Franschhoek
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calais Guest House
Calais Guest House
#23 of 64 in Franschhoek
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Ballon Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Ballon Rouge

Address: 7 Reservoir East Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $82 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Ballon Rouge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Ballon Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing