We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting room”
Review of Le Ballon Rouge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Ballon Rouge
Ranked #25 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We booked the loft suite for 2 nights at the end of January. Our e mail query regarding bed size was responded to, and it is a queen size.
The first impressions on entering the the room was WOW. It is spacious, interestingly furnished with a door through to an unbelievable bathroom. All better than expected and and the pictures on the web do not do it justice. We then started to unpack and settle in. Then we discovered that it was very much style over substance. We went to make a cup of tea and had to place the kettle on the floor as no power socket was by the kettle on the dresser. We do not generally watch TV, but noticed the small flat screen TV was to far away from the sofa to watch and it was at right angles to the bed, so viewing for any length of time would have been difficult. The bed/sitting room is lit by 2 velux style windows, which were covered with blinds that could not be pushed back. So natural light but no view. The bathroom had a conventional window that opened. The blind over the window nearest the bed was a blackout one which was a nice touch. On our first day it was very,very hot. Circa 35 degrees. Despite the room being air conditioned, it could not cope keeping all areas cool. The bathroom ceiling was very warm to the touch. We close the door to the bathroom and the main room cooled but the bathroom turned into a sauna! Fortunately the next day was cooler. The bathroom had similar style over substance issues, like no towel holder by the wash basin .... All small things, but taken together they mount up. Breakfast was adequate. It is a shame that the guest lounge in the main part of the house is locked at 6pm. Location is excellent, being just off the main street. Everywhere was very clean and tidy.
We would probably not stay here again. We are not sorry that we choose to stay here and to stay in such a stylish room for the price it is very good value. However we prefer a more conventional room so not really for us, but we know some of our friends would love it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D&DWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Le Ballon Rouge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 309 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Le Ballon Rouge.The staff were exceptionally helpful.The breakfasts were first rate and extremely varied - would suit all tastes ! Hotel is perfectly situated for the wine route and the village with its many restaurants and up-market shops.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jaryess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The guest house is ideally situated just a few minutes walk from Franschhoek's fabulous restaurants. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are clean. Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, yoghurt, fresh hot croissants and traditional English breakfast. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Would stay again any time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The owners suite is massive - very large sitting room , bedroom, and own private roof terrace,overlooking the mountains and a very efficient jacuzzi .
Very good breakfast delivered to our room.
Very convenient for restaurants that are only a quick walk away.
I'd go again.

Room Tip: Save up for the owners suite.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brewersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here two nights and felt very much at home. The hotel have that little extra touch that makes it feel a bit luxurious. Comfy beds and nice breakfast! Quite nice location, just a little short walk to the towns nice restaurants. Our room had nice view from the veranda overlooking the mountain.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinnLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Having decided to stay over in Franshoek rather than rush back to our cottage in Simon's Town we checked with the Tourist Information staff in the town for good overnight accomodation and up popped Le Ballon Rouge. Ideally situated just round the corner from the Grill Room where we plane to have our meal and withon site parking and overnight security patrol all the boxes were ticked.
Lovingly restored town house with a great selection of antique furniture married with modern bathroom.dstv etc and very comfortable beds.The breakfast was exquisite served on the interior stoep by friendly and welcoming staff this is a certain return accomodation in Franshoek

Room Tip: Best selection of rooms 1-5 located around the exterior of the house
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Nice venue, great breakfast and lovely rooms The atmosphere of Le Ballon Rouge is very romantic and the pool area is well looked after. It is a place to relax and enjoy Franschhoek as it is situated so close to the centre. Lovely and very very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Ballon Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Ballon Rouge

Address: 7 Reservoir East Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $89 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Ballon Rouge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Ballon Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing