We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but some flaws”
Review of Le Ballon Rouge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Ballon Rouge
Ranked #25 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent a couple of nights here during our visit around the Cape.

Pros:
*Comfortable mattresses
*Tasty breakfast (fruit salad, granola, yoghurt plus English breakfast) and a lovely dining room area
*Courteous and helpful staff
*Good location (within walking distance to Le Quartier Francais, a must-do!)
*Charmingly-decorated rooms

Cons:
*Spotty Internet which would typically cut out overnight.
*Tub shower with a partial enclosure. (Water went everywhere).
*No A/C and the ceiling fan made a loud ticking noise which made it hard to fall asleep.
*Small room size (but it is a historical building).
*Doors were hard to lock/unlock. Because they faced the outside, it was particularly inconvenient.

Note: not all rooms are created equal - our other room had a fully enclosed shower. It's worth asking to see the rooms before settling on one. The office closes at 6 pm so let them know if you are planning to arrive late.

We paid ~$100 per night per room. We booked fairly late (~late Oct) for peak season and this place seemed like one of the best options available based on our price range. I'd give this 3.5 stars but without that option I'd round down.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Passportable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Le Ballon Rouge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 309 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

Ideally located, walkable to restaurants and shops in town. Loft suite was spacious, romantic, good privacy-bed very comfortable. The staff were quick and accommodating, very friendly from checkin to checkout. Recommended great place for NYE dinner ; delicious complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Excellent value for money, lovely rooms, helpful staff, centrally located, great swimming pool area. Delicious breakfast with freshly baked croissants and rolls still hot from the oven. Would definitely recommend to others and certainly would stay here again.


  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa_R_2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Le Ballon Rouge. Management were very accommodating and very helpful. Would definitely recommend loft suite as other rooms on the small side. Great breakfast on the veranda.
Good location just off the main road with restaurants and shops within walking distance. Would recommend and would also want to stay again on next visit !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kaz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Lovely pool courtyard and breakfast patio- handy location, peaceful and affordable. The room was clean,well equipped and nicely decorated and the service friendly. Parking right next door and night security service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lindyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Central location is perfect and the room was beautiful, excellent decor. Some reviewers found the fact that each room opened onto the shared balcony around the house off-putting, but it's not an issue. Pool small, but nice for a quick dip to cool off

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

As a family we booked 2 rooms for one night and were very happy with our choice. The location is ideal, less than 5 minute walk to the main street where numerous restaurants are situated. Both rooms were spacious, clean and well-equipped. The breakfast was delicious and the staff friendly and polite. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jude0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Ballon Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Ballon Rouge

Address: 7 Reservoir East Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $89 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Ballon Rouge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Ballon Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing