We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at L'Ermitage for four nights from 25 November 2012. We stayed in one of the suites in the Chateau which was spacious, clean, comfortable and well appointed. A slight annoyance was that the heavy window drapes were not fitted with pull cords, one drape was separated from a couple of the hangers and was difficult to close/open. Bathroom was large with a bath and twin washbasins, separate very large shower cubicle and separate toilet. There was lots of clothes storage space. There was a magnificent view to vineyards and mountains from the balcony, some rooms may not have such an open outlook. The small kitchen area was equipped with cutlery, crockery, kettle and a large fridge. The very good breakfast, taken in the restaurant, was buffet style with a good selection of fruits, cereals, breads/pastries, cold meats and cheeses and hot items. Before our visit I noticed that a number of reviewers mentioned dim lighting, we had no such problem, however it is worth mentioning that most of the lights are equipped with adjustable electronic dimmers that sometimes cause the lights to be very dim at switch-on. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The centre of Franschhoek is about a 15 minute slight downhill walk. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 238 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We only stayed for one night, but the 2 bedroom apartment was very pleasant, spacious and well equiped. the service was satisfactory, but the room service was a bit slow and there was no menu in the room. Overall the place was in good condition and clean, well positioned with beautiful views over the mountains and good value for money.

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartment with separate lounge and kitchen is good value for money for 4 adults and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quiet_Guest312583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

When I tuned up for our 5star appartment I was disapointed to find no linen, the smell of damp, plaster coming off the walls, pool unkept with two rats in it. Could be beautiful as veiws and setting are amazing and I have been here before and had a wonderful experience such a shame the level of up keep have disapeared.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a short tour of the winelands. Our room was huge, very comfortable and well-equipped, with one of the biggest and best bathrooms we've come across. The food was very good too and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is conveniently situated at the end of the mountain pass above Franschoek with lovely views across the vineyards and mountains and a pleasant short walk into town. L'Ermitage is also an upmarket business hotel and conference centre but it's an excellent base for exploring the wineries and restaurants in and around Franschoek.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardP793_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

After six years together, my American girlfriend and I decided to get married. She was only here for 10 days, so I wanted to take her someplace special. I had been to Franschhoek many times, but never L'Ermitage. Let me just say that it exceeded both our expectations a thousand times over. Let me let my new wife explain:

The view was breathtaking, the hotel was gorgeous, but it was the staff that made our weekend something we will cherish for the rest of our lives! They have a chapel for weddings, but we just wanted a simple ceremony outside. They were only too happy to accommodate any request we had and recommended a charming vicar to perform the ceremony. Jo-Anne, the wedding planner, volunteered to be a witness and photographer! The hotel bought us dinner and champagne that evening, and when we returned to our room after a delicious meal, rose petals were on our bed and scattered all the way to the bathtub (the room was large)! I was really touched that they went out of their way to make this a very special time for us. In addition, we had great massages at the spa.

Honeymoon or not, L'Ermitage is quite simply heaven! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

L'erimitage is fine if your expectations is on the level of a Marriott Time Share. Rooms are spacious and with an American feel to them. Service and maintenance is limited this is not a hotel but a time share where they rent the vacant apartments. No evening service, when they twice forgot to make the extra bed for our son, we had to search the place to find sheets and then fix it ourselves. No pool, just a small pond for kids to jump into. No service whatsoever and old food was left there for hours. Staff is however super friendly and helpful but it does not make the service level any higher. Breakfast was good but dinner can be skipped. Again waiters and other staff were great. If you are a large family and want a place to explore the area from, this is a good place but dont plan to hang around the "hotel" while you are there. The price should reflect this or you will be paying too much.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florentine11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Unlike other reviewers we had no problem with hot water. However the water that came from the bath taps was brown. Not very nice. There is a serious lack of maintenance. Not sure if it is like that in all the villas. But the villa we stayed in was in desperate need of it. Some of the walls had serious water damage. There were white marks and various places where there were white calcium bubbles on the walls and on the paint. We had one light bulb that was blown and one that was broken. Neither was replaced during the week that we were there. There are no information folders in the rooms so you had to find out for yourself if needed something. The rooms are equipped with satellite tv but our villa had to search for a signal every time you changed channels and it would take up to 3 minutes each time. Turn downs were done almost every night. There were a few nights when they did not happen at all. All in all a nice place but the lack of maintenance is disturbing. We were told the place has been there for 3 years and if that is what it looks like after just 3 years i would hate to see it in 10 years

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank BertFourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas

Address: Lambrechts Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: $197 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lavish and luxurious accommodation in Franschhoek is ideal for both winter and summer visits as it is 100% equipped to offer the comfort that is required. Ideal for engagements, weekend getaways, special events as well as business trips, the beauty that the area beholds, and the luxury that the accommodation offers, makes it one of the very best experiences in the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau And Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing