We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Unlike other reviewers we had no problem with hot water. However the water that came from the bath taps was brown. Not very nice. There is a serious lack of maintenance. Not sure if it is like that in all the villas. But the villa we stayed in was in desperate need of it. Some of the walls had serious water damage. There were white marks and various places where there were white calcium bubbles on the walls and on the paint. We had one light bulb that was blown and one that was broken. Neither was replaced during the week that we were there. There are no information folders in the rooms so you had to find out for yourself if needed something. The rooms are equipped with satellite tv but our villa had to search for a signal every time you changed channels and it would take up to 3 minutes each time. Turn downs were done almost every night. There were a few nights when they did not happen at all. All in all a nice place but the lack of maintenance is disturbing. We were told the place has been there for 3 years and if that is what it looks like after just 3 years i would hate to see it in 10 years

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank BertFourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 235 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Like the previous reviewer we too had problems with the hot water which ran cold our first morning there of our 2 night stay. We were assured this would be fixed. We then had to phone again in the evening and they finally sent someone to fix it. He assured us that the water would heat up in 30 minutes, it didn't. When we reported it again they promised to phone us back and didn't. they eventually offered to move us on our last night which was a bit pointless. We got the usual meaningless apologies.

Based on the previous review it looks like they have a problem they can't fix. Tip would be check the hot water the minute you arrive and if it doesn't work demand they move you immediately. One other thing ask them to put a curtain on the toilet window as it's not a spectator sport!

Beautiful location and nice hotel spoiled by staff who couldn't care less.

Room Tip: Check the hot water immediately, if it doesn't work refuse to accept the room and demand they mo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJimMearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The villas are large and beautiful and the breakfast was lovely... but we were very disappointed. The bath water was brown and luke warm and by the next morning we only had cold water. Apparently someone had forgotten to flip the switch to turn on our geyser (and our aircon) on! I had a hole in my towel. There was a spider in the cupboard, a fishmoth and a worm in the bathroom!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeeBeeCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our second visit to L Ermitage was even more amazing than our first a year ago. The spacious rooms, wonderful views and amazing cuisine was only surpassed by the excellent service from check-in, though dinner and completed at Breakfast with some of the best freshly baked croissants served with a lovely buffet.
We'll definately be back!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the mountains have the best views
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrantNobleMTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our villa was right next to a dam, overlooked vineyards and a beautiful mountain and had a private splash pool. The villa is huge (for two people). Comfortably furnished with a large stoep looking onto the dam and separate kitchen and TV/dining/sitting room. We did not make use of the kitchen, but it has all the necessary equipment - even a washing machine and a wine rack for your locally bought wines (it's a great base from which to do winelands exploring, if you can afford it). While the chateau was quite full, we were not aware of the other guests until breakfast. The view from the room was much better than at Le Franschhoek Hotel, but there the staff were much friendlier and more attentive and the breakfast buffet also better. An exception is L'Ermitage's spa - the staff were friendly and good at their jobs.

Room Tip: Villas facing the dam have the most fantastic views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAtoUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Wow....as you turn into the Chateau's estate, you realize you are in for a special treat!

Our room was just amazing....18 ft high ceilings, a bathroom the size of most bedrooms, and a huge dressing area. The room decorations were gorgeous (French Provincial in style) and had a private balcony overlooking a lovely lake and wine farms! Despite the chilly and rainy weather, we enjoyed the blazing fireplaces with hot coffee in the lobby.

Breakfast was included and was fine, though nothing really special. The dining area again overlooked the lake which was delightful.

The service staff was a bit disappointing....there was really no concierge and the receptionist was not well informed about even the few local restaurants. Moreover, when we called with issues regarding the lack of heat and TV troubles, no one came and there was no followup. When we went to the lobby at 11pm, it was deserted - there was no help until the morning.

The hotel was really beautiful and ideally situated (and we got a great price), but we thought the service ought to have been better considering the 5 star accommodations and reputation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Lake!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in Franschoek after our long journey from New York. We had flown from Johannesburg to Cape Town and then rented a car to travel through Stellenbosch to this lovely retreat in Franschhoek. We had chosen the perfect location to recuperate from over 24 hours of travel (including layovers and transfers). The bed was incredibly comfortable, our balcony overlooked a pond that was at the foot of a vineyard, and sculpture dotted the surrounding landscape. The marble bathroom area with a large bath and 10+ foot shower was spacious and comfortable. The interior featured pale colors with lush fabrics and a regal wallpaper on one wall. The small kitchen area was equipt with a storage area for the bottles of wine you will surely purchase at the many nearby wine farms and glasses appropriate for the different varietals.

As some have stated, the service was not exceptional. The concierge was able to secure reservations at the superior Tasting Room for dinner and the wonderful Le Petit Fermier for lunch. Our bags were carried and the buffet breakfast attendance were prompt with our beverages and clean-up. However, we were not sufficiently helped when we were struggling with the heat. The weather was unseasonably cool with drizzle for two days, and we had to cling to the plush comforter throughout the night. We were told that the system was re-set, but no one was able to help further after 10pm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinaalex01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.7 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas

Address: Lambrechts Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: $190 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lavish and luxurious accommodation in Franschhoek is ideal for both winter and summer visits as it is 100% equipped to offer the comfort that is required. Ideal for engagements, weekend getaways, special events as well as business trips, the beauty that the area beholds, and the luxury that the accommodation offers, makes it one of the very best experiences in the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau And Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing