We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like France... But with good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just like France... But with good service”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our second visit to L Ermitage was even more amazing than our first a year ago. The spacious rooms, wonderful views and amazing cuisine was only surpassed by the excellent service from check-in, though dinner and completed at Breakfast with some of the best freshly baked croissants served with a lovely buffet.
We'll definately be back!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the mountains have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantNobleMTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    70
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
54
104
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our villa was right next to a dam, overlooked vineyards and a beautiful mountain and had a private splash pool. The villa is huge (for two people). Comfortably furnished with a large stoep looking onto the dam and separate kitchen and TV/dining/sitting room. We did not make use of the kitchen, but it has all the necessary equipment - even a washing machine and a wine rack for your locally bought wines (it's a great base from which to do winelands exploring, if you can afford it). While the chateau was quite full, we were not aware of the other guests until breakfast. The view from the room was much better than at Le Franschhoek Hotel, but there the staff were much friendlier and more attentive and the breakfast buffet also better. An exception is L'Ermitage's spa - the staff were friendly and good at their jobs.

Room Tip: Villas facing the dam have the most fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAtoUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Wow....as you turn into the Chateau's estate, you realize you are in for a special treat!

Our room was just amazing....18 ft high ceilings, a bathroom the size of most bedrooms, and a huge dressing area. The room decorations were gorgeous (French Provincial in style) and had a private balcony overlooking a lovely lake and wine farms! Despite the chilly and rainy weather, we enjoyed the blazing fireplaces with hot coffee in the lobby.

Breakfast was included and was fine, though nothing really special. The dining area again overlooked the lake which was delightful.

The service staff was a bit disappointing....there was really no concierge and the receptionist was not well informed about even the few local restaurants. Moreover, when we called with issues regarding the lack of heat and TV troubles, no one came and there was no followup. When we went to the lobby at 11pm, it was deserted - there was no help until the morning.

The hotel was really beautiful and ideally situated (and we got a great price), but we thought the service ought to have been better considering the 5 star accommodations and reputation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in Franschoek after our long journey from New York. We had flown from Johannesburg to Cape Town and then rented a car to travel through Stellenbosch to this lovely retreat in Franschhoek. We had chosen the perfect location to recuperate from over 24 hours of travel (including layovers and transfers). The bed was incredibly comfortable, our balcony overlooked a pond that was at the foot of a vineyard, and sculpture dotted the surrounding landscape. The marble bathroom area with a large bath and 10+ foot shower was spacious and comfortable. The interior featured pale colors with lush fabrics and a regal wallpaper on one wall. The small kitchen area was equipt with a storage area for the bottles of wine you will surely purchase at the many nearby wine farms and glasses appropriate for the different varietals.

As some have stated, the service was not exceptional. The concierge was able to secure reservations at the superior Tasting Room for dinner and the wonderful Le Petit Fermier for lunch. Our bags were carried and the buffet breakfast attendance were prompt with our beverages and clean-up. However, we were not sufficiently helped when we were struggling with the heat. The weather was unseasonably cool with drizzle for two days, and we had to cling to the plush comforter throughout the night. We were told that the system was re-set, but no one was able to help further after 10pm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinaalex01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

This is heaven on earth. Spectacular views, great service and fantastic food. You will not find a better place in Franchoek! Set against the moutain range with wineries serounding the villas, you are spoilt for choice in the wine and dine department.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zapiture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice rooms, great views, and good breakfast. However, the service is a bit lacking - I think the fact that these are timeshares and is not a full-time hotel is part of the problem. Not that one won't enjoy it, but for the prices on offer, one would expect more of a 5* service... not a glorified self-catered operation. Outside of breakfast, the food was subpar... and the spa is a meeting room where they've just put up some drapes and lit candles. Not a grande dame hotel, if that's what you're expecting.

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest rooms - you get what you pay for at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian_Cape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I went up to Franschhoek with a friend to attend the Bastille festival. We decided late, and expected room prices to be off the charts. We found L'ermitage online, at a very reasonable price, and immediately booked. We were gobsmacked when we say the rooms. Spacious, each having our own bedroom, excellent linen and furnishings. Amazing, considering what we had paid for the room, and at a time when Franschhoek was having a festival. A little drive outside the main drag of Franschhoek, but this was no problem for us. Will definitely return, and stay longer.

However, we had a couple we know staying over the same time as us, and they did not have such a pleasant experience. Their shower leaked, making a noise, and they were extremely irate by the time they checked out. I can, however, only rate this from my personal experience which was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
644 reviews
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas

Property: L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Address: Lambrechts Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lavish and luxurious accommodation in Franschhoek is ideal for both winter and summer visits as it is 100% equipped to offer the comfort that is required. Ideal for engagements, weekend getaways, special events as well as business trips, the beauty that the area beholds, and the luxury that the accommodation offers, makes it one of the very best experiences in the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau And Villas
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing