We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of potential, does NOT meet minimum standards” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lots of potential, does NOT meet minimum standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Knowing that this is not a cheap hotel, we were pleasantly surprised to see accommodation that was very spacious and superficially looked all right. The views from the room are stunning, so the location is excellent!
But then we started using the accommodation. Knob of the shower came off, TV didn't work, the drawer handle fell of while opening one of the drawers... and that's just little inconveniences compared to the filthy private pools. We travelled with friends whose pool was extremely filthy, green all over and had dead crabs floating in it (I kid you not!). When we made the remark about the pool, the staff told us that they would take care of it after we leave the place.
Upon return from our restaurant at 23h, we found the bar closed. We were clearly not the only people expecting the bar to be open a little bit later, as we were joined by a whole bunch of people who also came back from their evening out.

On top of that, the service at the breakfast was not as good as you'd expect from a hotel with £250+ rooms. Only 3 couples eating and there were no more glasses for the juice, some of the tables were half laid out (forks, no spoons, some with glasses, some without....), very sloppy.

If you can get a good discount, this hotel is probably worth it, but it certainly isn't worth paying the full price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pladijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    69
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
53
101
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed one night here in the beautiful town of Franschhoek in wine country.

L'Ermitage is in a lovely setting and our room was actually a very large one bedroom apartment with kitchen, lounge and large terrace overlooking the lake.

We did not try the restaurant (too tired) and just had room service. All the staff seemed friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

We enjoyed a 2-night stay here in winter. Beautiful village-like setting, stunning surrounds. Rooms spacious and well appointed. Staff friendly and professional. Great setting to enjoy Franschhoek from. A great weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the dam and mountains are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
432 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed in July 2011 for 2 nights...we were booked for a double room but upgraded to two room suite next to river...the view from room was excellent, overlooking river and mountain...this property is about 5 min drive or about 20 min walk from main street...I wish there was a free drop off service from hotel because one evening when we went for dinner on main street,taxi charged us R200 for return trip which was more than our dinner bill...No free internet in roon only in lobby...it is in the centre of wineland and surely a 5 star property.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BalkrishnaShroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
189 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We loved L'Ermitage, we spent a weekend there and just relaxed. The villa's are beautifully furnished, all have well equipped kitchen's. Lovely bedrooms, kingsize beds and huge baths. The quality of the entire hotel is 5*. We did not have dinner at the hotel as the "special" advertised on the website was not familiar to the staff so we were worried we would be disappointed but everything else was superb.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Beautifully set and a very peaceful hotel! The staff was a bit unaware of situations. The hotel could do better on the rates as Franschhoek was our last stop of our 2 weeks in South Africa and this hotel worked out to the highest with the least facilities. The hotel on its own is beautifully set, very calming and totally picturesque.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, it really is like a big appartment. There was a large lounge and kitchen, bedroom, big bathroom and balcony. We were not in one of the lake facing rooms which I would imagine are nicer although inside the room it couldnl;t have been better equipped, washing machine, full kitchen etc.
Will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
2.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas

Property: L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Address: Lambrechts Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lavish and luxurious accommodation in Franschhoek is ideal for both winter and summer visits as it is 100% equipped to offer the comfort that is required. Ideal for engagements, weekend getaways, special events as well as business trips, the beauty that the area beholds, and the luxury that the accommodation offers, makes it one of the very best experiences in the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau And Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing