We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable accommodation - great weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Villas at Le Franschhoek
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband, toddler, and I stayed at the Villas for a weekend. The staff are very friendly and helpful; the location is great - a 3 minute drive from the main road in Franschoek (one of my favourite weekend getaway spots); the accommodation is very comfortable. The puctures on the website represent the accommodation very well.

The spa was also great. I had a wonderful massage.

(As an aside, if you're in Franschoek, I highly recommend having lunch at Pierneef at La Motte. It was wonderful - gorgeous setting, delicious food, and very child-friendly.)

We would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraYGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 102 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Le Franschhoek tries to live up to its luxury badge with very friendly and attentive staff. The villa we stayed in was also large and beautifully furnished - the sitting area was especially comfortable. However, now that I can compare it to a villa at L'Ermitage, the room and stoep were smaller, not private and had a view of a parking area, tennis court and (admittedly beautiful) mountain. Ask where you want to be located when you book. And do take a leisurely walk around the grounds - there are beautiful gardens and a small river.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAtoUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have stayed at the Villas at Le Franschhoek a number of times and have always had a great experience. Well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds & all modern amenities. On our arrival, the beds had been turned down, heating turned up & hot chocolate waiting! If you don't want to cook the hotel has a great restaurant and the bar does an amazing cappuccino! The staff are friendly and helpful and will go above and beyond to ensure your stay is as pleasant as possible.

Room Tip: The two bedroomed villa's are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammyKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed in the Villas for a wedding, and the Villas were great. They are spacious, with lounges, big balconies, and the rooms are very clean and well decorated. I would highly recommend staying here. We stayed in a two bedroom villa which was very reasonable in terms of price.

The hotel is a also great if you feel like an afternoon cocktail or buffett breakfast.

They are also well situated and is a 5 minute drive to the main street in Franschoek.

Room Tip: The best is to be specific when requesting a Villa, and indicate if you would like a more private vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SATraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in April 2012. We were down for a wedding (not at this venue) and most people attending the wedding stayed at the Villas which kinda made it feel like Melrose Place!

The rooms were exceptionally clean and well appointed and just a short drive out of the main town center. It was a great base for our crew with easy access to wine farms and restaurants.

The hotel is also very impressive and has a boutique feel to it.

All round a great choice in Franschoek

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Our only regret was only staying one night in the villas. We stayed in a 2bedroom, 2bathroom thatched villa with friends and would highly recommend this place. If you're tired of staying in just a room in a hotel then this place is great to stretch out. A large lounge and dining area with kitchen occupies downstairs with the 2 lovely decorated rooms upstairs with views of the mountains from the windows. Request Villa 21 as this is the best villa with the best view as it's at the end with nothing else obstructing the beautiful views on the gardens and grounds.
It's 3kms from the main street with all the restaurants on, but as long as you don't mind a quick drive then this place is perfect.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank richsmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This is our third stay here and it is always great. Rooms are well appointed and the self catering kitchen works well. Staff great and weather always great!

We will return

Room Tip: Stay here if going to a wedding or party in Franschhoek well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
535 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.7 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#10 of 64 in Franschhoek
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Le Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Le Franschhoek

Address: Farm Keerweder | Minor road 16, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: $143 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Le Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Le Franschhoek offer magnificent views of the Franschhoek Mountains and are ideally situated for touring the famed Cape Wine routes. The villas consist of one and two bedroom units each with their own kitchenette and patio. The accommodation offering is perfect for families and long stay guests, offering serviced comforts of a world class hotel, yet having the flexibility and privacy within your own villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Villas at Le Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing