We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality accommodation in the tranquill winelands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vrede en Lust Estate
Ranked #35 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Top quality accommodation in the tranquill winelands”
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed a night here on the estate in one of the 2 bedroom cottages at a heavily discounted price because it was winter and we were towards the end of our World Cup trip. The cottages are spacious, 2 bedrooms both ensuite, a small kitchen well kitted out, lounge area and outside patio with swimming pool - too cold for us to try but imagine in the summer it must be divine. An excellent breakfast in the winery restaurant was included, you could choose anything off the menu and available until 12.00 noon. There are not too many places like this in the winelands so we were extremely pleased we had made the effort to stay over.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble - the wine tasting area is well laid out with fantastic views. The quality and range of wine is impressive and you are able to order for it to be delivered in the UK - which we did and it arrived 2 days after we returned - what service.

We will definitely put it on our list to return especially in the summer months

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trueblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    17
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
54
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2010

We are still on a high after the team at Vrede en Lust put together the most perfect wedding for our daughter. The setting at Vrede en Lust is indescribably beautiful, especially on a warm sunny day and there are plenty of these in this area. All our desires were met and our ideas and instructions were followed with precision. We were extremely well looked after in the five star historical guest house and cottages where our every need was catered for. Where else will a hostess make a special trip into town to fetch a meal for you because you were too rushed to bring one with you as planned? We were made to feel as if our wedding was the most important one ever. The food was top notch- just what you would expect from the highly acclaimed chefs from 'Outcook Express'. Our guests were blown away by it all and so were we! Needless to say many of them paid a visit to the winery the next day to purchase some of Vrede en Lust wines which had tickled their palates the night before. Recommended? FOR SURE!!!
I wish we could do it all over again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Dear Wiena & Yolanda

I can’t believe how the time has flown since our wedding. We’re both now back at work and back to the reality of normal life. The wedding seems like a distant but amazing memory.

When Paul and I visited Vrede en Lust in December 2008 we instantly fell in love with it and knew that we had to have our wedding there. Planning the wedding, every moment leading up to it and the actual wedding was like doing a jigsaw puzzle. As all the pieces were added the puzzle picture slowly became clearer and when the last piece was added that memory we have is something we will never forget! All of your input before, during and after the wedding was so valuable. You were amazing the weekend of the wedding and so hospitable. Our wedding was so special and I would like to thank you both for all you did to ensure it was. You went above and beyond and small details like the personalised letters for the guests were a wonderful touch.

I can’t tell you how many guests said that our wedding was the best that they had been to. There are lots of factors that make a great wedding, but a breathtaking venue, outstanding service & hospitality, delectable food, and gorgeous wines certainly play a massive part. Thank you for your help in making the wedding we envisioned a reality.

Paul and I are delighted that we’re able to purchase Vrede en Lust wines in the UK. Every time we have a glass we will be reminded of our stunning South African Winelands wedding. Vrede en Lust has truly captured our hearts and we hope to return soon to enjoy all it has to offer.

Warmest and fondest regards

Paul and Layla

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Layla_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We celebrated our marriage at Vrede en Lust in February this year and had booked the venue for 3 nights. We knew the venue was beautiful when we originally booked it but to actually stay there and be looked after by everyone at Vrede en Lust was something else all together. From the start to end we were looked after by Wiena, Ouma,Yolanda and the other ladies who couldn't do enough for us, ensured our stay was fanatastic and consistently exceeded our expectations. The venue itself is amazing and deserves 5 stars. The manor house and the cottages are beautifully decorated while the setting is breathtaking with views across the vineyards and the mountains as a backdrop. Everyone that stayed there and all of our guests at the wedding could not praise it enough. So thanks to Wiena, Yolanda, Ouma and all the other staff for being so welcoming....we will be back

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKholidaytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Notts, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2010

Just got back this morning from attending a friend's wedding at VnL. We were totally blown away by the beauty and tranquillity of this gorgeous estate. Nothing was too much trouble for Wiena, who seemed to be everywhere at once, making sure everything ran smoothly and that everyone was happy.

The gardens overlooking the mountains were the perfect setting for the wedding and the reception drinks served by the pool were a great idea. The huge sail-like marquee for the wedding breakfast was simply breathtaking, especially with the twinkly lights in the eaves. The food was so delightful and I need to come back just to have more of the steamed wontons (also available in Cotage Fromage, the estate restaurant!).

The estate cottages we stayed in were delightful. Ours had a corner bath and large walk-in shower but each one is totally individual. As for the Manor House - wow, wow, wow!

The wedding continued the next day with a pool side BBQ, which was the perfect end for the wedding...sunshine, friends, estate wine (the Jess, Karien and Margurite were just delightful), and more steak, lamb, chicken, salads etc. than you could shake a stick at!

It was truly a delightful place for a wedding - we saw good friends get married in a spectacular setting, have the personalised wedding that they wanted, the guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves and also had space and freedom to make new friends.

We are already talking about organising another group visit - maybe for their first anniversary!!!

You won't be disappointed by the time spent at VnL - it is simply Heaven on Earth. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leafytri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2010

Have just returned from our wedding at Vrede en Lust and the whole affair from the initial recce to the ceremony itself was just impeccable. Every aspect of the estate is managed beautifully, the staff are, to a person, kind, friendly, warm and talented. As for the event itself - every single aspect of the two days exceeded our very high expectations.

As we live a long way from the venue (some 6,000 miles!) we found the services of Yolanda (the wedding co-ordinator) were invaluable and no detail was too small (nor any of my many questions too stupid) for her to deal with. I was fortunate enough to visit the estate again some months before the wedding and sat with Duncan (one of the chefs at Cotage Fromage, the caterers) and tasted all of our 7 courses of food. Each one was exquisitely presented and the care and talent lavished on the food by Duncan and his colleagues was evident.

As the day approached, Yolanda was in constant contact with us, ensuring that all the participants were fully briefed and ready for our big day. On the day itself I arrived at the venue at 2pm and, being careful to avoid sight of my future wife, took a look around the marquee area and ceremony (this part laid out at the foot of the Simonsberg in the vineyard itself with a backdrop that rendered me speechless).

On greeting me for the first time in 6 months, I was given a big hug from Yolanda and it was like being welcomed back by an old friend. Our guests moved into their rooms in the cottages (newly refurbished and perfectly matched to the age and style of the exterior of the buildings, whilst others moved into the magnificent and imposing manor house, each room being a picture of perfection thanks to Wiena and her team. I, on the other hand, walked to the high-ceilinged tasting plaza and had a medicinal glass of the excellent Marguerite chardonnay wine with my best man and ushers.

As 4pm approached I walked down to the ceremony area and waited for my wife. The ceremony took place in bright flooding sunlight and after the event we walked up to the pool area in front of the manor house where pre-reception drinks were served. Tables had been set upon the lawn and the staff were discreetly on hand to make sure that no-one's glass was ever empty. Mine was particularly well attended in that respect!

After the rounds and rounds of photographs, my wife and I walked up the lawn from the vineyard into the open front of the permanent marquee as the sun began to set at the back of the mountains.

JP, the chef running the show that evening had his team primed and ready and we began 8 courses of peerless and delicious food, each one matched by one of the great wines from the Vrede en Lust estate, culminating in a Springbok that was the softest, most melting meat I've ever eaten. A fact I confirmed by eating most of my wife's too! There were so many food highlights I can't begin to tell you but the wontons, served in individual steamers with soy and apple dip seemed to garner the most incredulous glances from our friends and family.

The timing was just right to allow digestion of the previous course before being blown away by the next experience.

A disco in the marquee and a well-stocked and well-staffed bar ensured that the rest of the night ended in a blissful stupor in the honeymoon suite of the manor house and a night's sleep of great satisfaction.

Early the next morning we both awoke reasonably early and padded downstairs where Yolanda served us a coffee on the veranda before we took ourselves down to the restaurant at Cotage Fromage for breakfast (included in the two day package for all guest staying in the estate accommodation). The quality of the breakfast only confirmed my recollections of the night before. Truffled fillet of beef tartare for breakfast? Amazing and so delicate!

Then, to a wine tasting to shake off the last vestiges of the hangover of the night before the 2nd day of our time at Vrede en Lust. Duncan and his crew set up a braai (barbecue) by the pool house and, shaking off the formalities of the day before, we set about a huge South African tradition and ate barbecued meats, salads and more wedding cake until we were fit to burst.

The evening rounded off on the veranda drinking and laughing with our guests before another night of soundless sleep.

Breakfast again the next morning (Chorizo and Pork Belly sandwich with bone marrow!) set us up for the departure and the only sorrow we felt at the whole time was having to leave a place that now felt like a second home to us with some new, and very close, friends.

Yolanda, Wiena, Duncan, JP and all their colleagues combine in a symbiotic way to provide an experience that I genuinely believe couldn't have been surpassed anywhere else in the Cape Winelands, let alone the rest of the world. The parting gift from Yolanda herself of a magnum of the sumptuous Cara left both of us in tears as we drove away.

I commend Vrede en Lust to absolutely anyone for a stay in a piece of Cape history, for a wedding or celebration that will lift your spirits to the heavens. There aren't sufficient superlatives in the English language for me to do justice to the estate and the family of people who run it so very well.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ojh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2010

My husband and I chose Vrede en Lust as our wedding venue. We stayed two nights with our extended family and some friends. I speak for all of us when I say it was a truly incredible experience all round. Every one of our wedding guests commented on how stunning the venue is, and how beautiful the accommodation is.
The wedding co-ordinator Yolanda has got true eye for detail and is very knowledgeable about making weddings run smoothly. All the members of staff were friendly and helpful and went beyond the boundaries of what we expected from them. Wiena Riedel who manages the guest accommodation was available at a moment's notice to help with any requests, no matter how difficult they seemed.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judybeanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franschhoek
1.4 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
3.0 mi away
Boschendal Cottages
Boschendal Cottages
#8 of 41 in Franschhoek
93 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#15 of 63 in Franschhoek
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#17 of 63 in Franschhoek
272 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paddabult Self-Catering Cottages
5.8 mi away
Le Pommier Wine Estate - Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vrede en Lust Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vrede en Lust Estate

Property: Vrede en Lust Estate
Address: Intersection R45 & Klapmuts Rd, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vrede en Lust Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vrede en Lust offers award-winning wines, historic Cape Dutch architecture, undulating vineyards, breathtaking scenery and world-class leisure facilities. Our cellar door is open daily, with free wine tasting or special wine enthusiast food and wine pairings. Luxurious accommodation for up to 42 people plus one of the most sought-after wedding and event venues in the country. On-site is the beautiful LUST Bistro & Bakery that offers all-day breakfasts, blackboard lunch specials and freshly baked artisan breads and treats from their wood-fired oven. LUST is also available for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Vrede en Lust Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing