We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
150
22
8
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
22
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuemanor housewine tastingwedding coordinatorharvest festivalpool housebeautiful venuethe cottagesamazing winebeautiful mountainscape winelandsworld classthree nightswine tramtasting roomestateguests
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 183 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2010

My husband and I chose Vrede en Lust as our wedding venue. We stayed two nights with our extended family and some friends. I speak for all of us when I say it was a truly incredible experience all round. Every one of our wedding guests commented on how stunning the venue is, and how beautiful the accommodation is.
The wedding co-ordinator Yolanda has got true eye for detail and is very knowledgeable about making weddings run smoothly. All the members of staff were friendly and helpful and went beyond the boundaries of what we expected from them. Wiena Riedel who manages the guest accommodation was available at a moment's notice to help with any requests, no matter how difficult they seemed.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judybeanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We are a couple from the UK that decided to get married at Vrede en Lust after researching several wine farms in South Africa. We decided on Vrede en Lust for several reasons, but mainly the scenery of vineyards & mountains we thought would make our wedding pics look awesome! When we actually arrived at the venue to see it for the first time (the day before we got wed!), we were totally amazed at how beautiful the whole wine estate and surroundings were. It was 10 times better than we thought it would be - and we had high expectations!
Yolanda (wedding co-ordinator) and all the team were so, so helpful, right from all the planning by email right up until the minute we sadly left. There is nothing they wouldn't do for you.
The manor house is out of this world. Stunning, perfectly decorated, very very comfortable, massive rooms etc etc. The pool area is even better, with the pool house next to it that has a bar, gym & sauna. The 3 cottages next to the manor house are equally perfect.
Cotage Fromage, the restaurant just inside the entrance serves the most amazing food.
Wine tasting sessions are very informative (and free!), with knowledgable & very friendly staff.
Anyone who is thinking of Vrede en Lust as a wedding or function venue shouldn't miss the opportunity to spend it in such a luxurious and relaxed place. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlun_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

My husband and I got married at Vrede en Lust in October last year. We booked the place out for two nights and had the most amazing time - the staff thoroughly looked after us, nothing was too much trouble. Venue-wise, our guests, as well as ourselves, were totally blown away. Breathtaking setting, fantastic staff (dealt mainly with Yolanda Kotze, who's amazing and very friendly), unbelievable food, they'll do anything you ask, and great wine! Our only complaint is the time went so quickly?! We'd thoroughly recommend VnL for a wedding, or a stay of any kind, and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank liefiedebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Fantastic estate! We have used the conference facilities as well as the overnight accommodations several times - Vrede en Lust is second to none. Dana and his team do a great job making your stay unforgettable. All this, and in a fabulous setting - the estate is located in the center of the Cape Wineland with spectacular views of vineyards and the surrounding Simonsberg, Drakenstien and Du Toitskloof mountains.

While there, make sure to take the opportunity to wine taste and dine at Cotage Fromage. On a summer afternoon with friends, a cheese platter with a bottle of Babere is hard to beat.

Enjoy your stay – you are going to love this place!

Thank World_Adventurer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Situated on Simonsberg. Gorgeous views! Friendly and competent staff. The restaurant was an amazing experience with a variety of tasteful dishes and award winning wines. The wedding venue is out of this world with many options and possibilities. Vrede and Lust will definitely see us again!

Thank prin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews