We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious accommodation on first class wine estate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vrede en Lust Estate
Ranked #35 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed in the cottage 'Marguerite ',and what a treat it turned out to be ; a fabulously comfortable bed of very generous proportions within a well appointed en suite bed room full of period furniture ..not to mention the enormous lounge and unexpected second bedroom.Outside the manicured grounds have a lovely swimming pool for residents only with far reaching mountain views. Fab breakfast served in the on site restaurant and complementary wine tasting with the legendary ladies in red !We will return !

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phantom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Vrede en Lust Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 153 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have been fortunate enough to have just celebrated our wedding at VnL with family and friends and it was simply amazing. Of course there are all those anxieties before the big day but in hindsight we were being ridiculous. This however can only have been made possible by Willem and his team who couldn't have been more helpful and professional. There were inevitably hitches on the day but these were handled efficiently and without us even knowing about it at the time. We had hired the Manor House and the Cottages and our guests have nothing but praise for the quality and comfort of their stay. The braai option the night before the wedding is something not to be missed as the food is top quality. Simply put, Vrede En Lust is the most incredible venue to have a wedding where phenomenal long lasting memories are created not just for the new Mr and Mrs but also for family and friends. Thank you Willem!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranandAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

... this place is absolutely perfect. We had the chance to stay in the main house which made it the stay really special. The venue is brilliant for a wedding and the backdrop of the vines and the moutons make it very photogenic. Breakfast is served each day at the restaurant next to the main gate and the food is a perfect combination of taste and nutrition. In fact the restaurant was so good that we ended up eating lunch there as well. Despite the sweltering summer heat the outside terrace is regularly cooled by wafts of micro-mist. Make sure you try the Rosé from the farm - everyone was raving about it.

On another note the restaurant is also responsible for the wedding catering which was equally fantastic. The waiting staff at the wedding managed just the right balance of attentiveness and invisibility. Not an easy task.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We held our wedding at VnL in December and the venue, the service and the care with which they dealt with us was phenomenal. We both live in Australia which could have made things more difficult but they made our planning so easy and were great to deal with. I cannot recommend them highly enough. They were thoughtful, knew exactly what needed to be done and liaised with our wedding coordinator. They dealt with everything during the day which meant we could focus on enjoying our special day. All of our guests loved it and I'd hate to be the next of our friends that get married ... VnL raised the bar to an impossible level. Thanks so much

Room Tip: They're all amazing
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

It breaks my heart to share this with the world. You know that feeling when you find something so amazing that you only want to keep it to yourself! This is what happened when we visited Vrede en Lust!

Wow- everything was excellent- from the view to the hospitality and especially the wine.

This a definite must when traveling to the Western Cape, and even when traveling to South Africa

Toy Barnard

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Toy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This wine tasting was clearly a step above the ordinary. Everything about it was grand. The scenary, the historical setting and, of course, the wines. We were there to attend a wedding and this was the first event on the program. The wedding could not have come off to a better start! Many of the guests met for the first time, so this became a great "ice breaker".

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Pros
- beautifully located in the vineyards of Simondium
- wonderful old estate with a lot of charme
- nice plunge pool in the romantic backyard
- spacious and nicely decorated cottages
- very attentive and helpful service crew and management
- welcome bottle of vine from the own vineyard
- historic and typical Cape Dutch architecture of the Manor House
- Fabulous breakfast in the "Lust"-Bistro (own bakery with delicious bread!!!)

Cons
- right in the middle between Franschhoek, Stellenbosch and Paarl, so you need a car, but it's worth the drive!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kinski T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
11.3 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
9.7 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.4 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Boschendal Cottages
Boschendal Cottages
#6 of 42 in Franschhoek
110 reviews
4.8 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
363 reviews
10.2 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vrede en Lust Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vrede en Lust Estate

Address: Intersection R45 & Klapmuts Rd, Franschhoek 7670, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $145 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vrede en Lust Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vrede en Lust offers award-winning wines, historic Cape Dutch architecture, undulating vineyards, breathtaking scenery and world-class leisure facilities. Our cellar door is open daily, with free wine tasting or special wine enthusiast food and wine pairings. Luxurious accommodation for up to 42 people plus one of the most sought-after wedding and event venues in the country. On-site is the beautiful LUST Bistro & Bakery that offers all-day breakfasts, blackboard lunch specials and freshly baked artisan breads and treats from their wood-fired oven. LUST is also available for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Vrede en Lust Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing