We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
150
22
8
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
22
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuemanor housewine tastingwedding coordinatorharvest festivalpool housebeautiful venuethe cottagesamazing winebeautiful mountainscape winelandsworld classthree nightswine tramtasting roomestateguests
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 183 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We held our wedding at Vrede en Lust in September 2013 and it was really wonderful. The location and accommodation are gorgeous, but even better was the support the Vrede en Lust wedding planning team gave us - both in planning the event but particularly on the day itself. We had a wonderful time and the day was more than we could have hoped for - what a wonderful place, I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We married at Vrede en Lust on 14th February 2013 with 82 guests from around the World.

This place is simply magical- there are no other words for it! It has all the elements completely correct, and in balance!

The location is to die for- incredible views, long vines, staggering mountains and the beautiful sunsets.
The service is impeccable - friendly, professional, thoughtful and attentive.
The accommodation is traditional but modern, comfortable, stylish and convenient.
The food is undeniably the best food we have eaten in South Africa!
The wine- excellent quality and fairly priced. To name two super wines; the Jess Rose is truly delicious for a summer tipple, and the Sarah is a crisp, light white.

As a wedding venue this place epitomises romance, elegance, fun and modernity. The location genuinely takes your breath away. The wedding planners Yolanda and Willem are organised and attentive and Duncan the head chef is a complete legend! We had 82 guests at our wedding, which for a British couple with 67 friends and family flying in from the UK and the rest from around the World represented a challenge. We wanted to make this a wedding that both fulfilled our dreams (and very high expectations), and delivered a superb experience for our guests.
Vrede en Lust exceeded our expectations in every single way. We would do the wedding, and the recovery pool party & BBQ again in a heartbeat!

Our guests still talk about Vrede en Lust as the best wedding they have ever been to. We put this down to this incredibly magical place, the vision of the wedding team and their trusted suppliers, the amazing food, the atmosphere, the accommodation and the sheer elegance of how everything was managed. The 22 of us who stayed at the Manor House and the cottages for 4 nights had an even better time in the pool, Cotage Fromage restaurant, wine tasting with the Red Ladies and laughing with the staff.

We will see you soon team Vrede en Lust. Until then, you still take our breath away! With thanks, Christina and Charlie

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaClarkeManto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedrooms cottage (our daughter 3-y old stayed for free).
Not only the place itself was amazing, full of history, but also the rooms are big, very nicely furnished and the staff is actually very helpful and welcoming. We also enjoyed the pool ... and the wine of course !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aude_quentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

i am tourguide,David Williams in the Dwarsriver Valley.Taking my guest from other countries there is always a memorable exerience.From the time you enter vrede and lust wine estate you are treated like royalty.The ladies in their red dresses ,well organise,great view from the balcony and you let us feel special.Do what you do guys welldone.

Room Tip: You must feel welcome when enter
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davoetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We got married at Vrede en Lust last weekend and this venue made the whole experience unbelievable. Our guests were blown away by the scenery, the venue, the rooms, the gardens, the food and above all the hospitality of the staff.
We had 22 people staying on the farm itself and they were constantly complimenting us on our choice of venue, even though they had to fly down for it. I think in the end we definitely made the right choice. The rooms are very nice and rustic, with a lot of antique charm yet surprisingly comfortable. It is not filled with a thousand amenities as you would find in a fancy hotel in a city, but is still amazingly comfy, as a countryside lodge should be. Expect a very relaxing, tranquil stay.

The staff at hand....Lynn, Yolanda, Elzahn and Corne are very attentive and go out of their way to try and meet most of your needs.
The newly refurbished restaurant, Lust, was exceptional and served delicious breakfasts for all our guests.
We had such an amazing time on this farm and will definitely want to go back soon. Can't wait!
Warm regards

Room Tip: Had the opportunity to look at all the rooms and any one of them are very nice. But if you have a bigger group, try getting the Manor House.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rigard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews