We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
150
22
8
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
22
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuemanor housewine tastingwedding coordinatorharvest festivalpool housebeautiful venuethe cottagesamazing winebeautiful mountainscape winelandsworld classthree nightswine tramtasting roomestateguests
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 183 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We got married at Vrede en Lust last weekend and this venue made the whole experience unbelievable. Our guests were blown away by the scenery, the venue, the rooms, the gardens, the food and above all the hospitality of the staff.
We had 22 people staying on the farm itself and they were constantly complimenting us on our choice of venue, even though they had to fly down for it. I think in the end we definitely made the right choice. The rooms are very nice and rustic, with a lot of antique charm yet surprisingly comfortable. It is not filled with a thousand amenities as you would find in a fancy hotel in a city, but is still amazingly comfy, as a countryside lodge should be. Expect a very relaxing, tranquil stay.

The staff at hand....Lynn, Yolanda, Elzahn and Corne are very attentive and go out of their way to try and meet most of your needs.
The newly refurbished restaurant, Lust, was exceptional and served delicious breakfasts for all our guests.
We had such an amazing time on this farm and will definitely want to go back soon. Can't wait!
Warm regards

Room Tip: Had the opportunity to look at all the rooms and any one of them are very nice. But if you have a bigger group, try getting the Manor House.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rigard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had first visited the estate with my then “girlfriend” on 19 September. We had a wonderful experience in the tasting room as the place and hosting stole our hearts. It was then that I had decided to plan my proposal to my girlfriend. A quick chat to the hosting ladies in the tasting room, and a plan was on the cards for a private “cellar tour” the following day. I proposed in the cellar, with a beautiful setting amongst the aged barrels… a scene set for memories! A special thanks to all the ladies at Vrede and Lust (especially Lynne and Christine). Vrede and Lust will always be a part of our lives!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Back home after the most memorable 5 days with my darling husband on the glorious Vrede en Lust wine estate in the Franschoek valley. Staying in one of the Jonkmanshuis cottages built in 1688, we felt like royalty. Taking care of the smallest details made us feel so spoiled. .Experiencing the Uncorked festival was an added bonus Truly an anniversary that will be cherished and remembered by the exceptional company, food, wines and beautiful people at Vrede en Lust.The newly renovated restaurant on the estate served mouth watering food and Dirk and his team always made sure our every need was met. Anneke and the gorgeous ladies in red made the wine tasting journey one that stands out. Thanks to Lynne always ready to assist with a restaurant booking or interesting tit bits about the estate and surrounding area. Truly a time away from home where we left feeling part of the family and having made new friends.The breathtaking surroundings of the vineyards and mountains of Franschoek begging us to come back soon...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We chose Vrede en Lust for our wedding and it was absolutely stunning. Beautiful setting and the food we had during our stay was exceptional. Our party took over the whole venue and the staff could not do enough for you, extremely friendly. Accommodation was 5 star and very very comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great spot for a wine tasting, our tasting lounge lady was very friendly and professional. Really good value wines as well.

The history and location of the estate is so romantic! We will definitely tell all our friends and be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews