We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
155
23
8
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
23
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manor house wedding venue wedding coordinator wine estate pool house beautiful venue vineyard suites beautiful mountains western cape world class short drive three nights tasting room guests vineyards lindt accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 189 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great spot for a wine tasting, our tasting lounge lady was very friendly and professional. Really good value wines as well.

The history and location of the estate is so romantic! We will definitely tell all our friends and be back soon!

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a great suite with two bedrooms and a huge living room with fireplace and big screen TV. Set in the vineyards in a 1600’s Cape Dutch building. The room itself was first class. Unfortunately when we stayed there was no food service on the location but there are many great restaurants in the area. The outside vineyard views are stunning. The location is also very close to many other great wineries and makes an easy time for tasting and enjoying the scenery. We also had a great breakfast in the manor house. Very nice staff and we were treated well. We plan on returning on our next trip to South Africa!

Room tip: We stayed in the Barbare suite. Excellent
Date of stay: June 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank buckeye-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent an afternoon at this amazing wine estate. We enjoyed the "Mothers Day" lunch at the resturant which was paired with the estate wines. The food and service was world class. Thereafter we were treated by Caren to a very informative wine tasting experience. The wines are truley amazing and very affordable. Thank you Caren and Vrede en Lust. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Webman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were fortunate to stay in the Barbere Cottage at Vrede En Lust in January. Our stay was outstanding. The cottage had all the amenities that you would need. The two bedrooms and living room were very inviting. We enjoyed the beautiful views and the peace and quiet.

We appreciated the complementary wine tasting, as well as, the two bottles of Merlot which were a welcome gift in our cottage.

Vrede En Lust is ideally located close to Franschoek, Stellenbosch and Paarl.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJDAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the main house as part of a wedding party. The house was stunning, the garden and pool idyllic and the efforts the team at VDL put into the wedding was spectacular.

If you want to get married in SA you can't beat VDL.

Date of stay: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews