We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic”
Review of Basse Provence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basse Provence
Ranked #42 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Rustic guest house on a farm, very peaceful, friendly service. Stayed in a room on the top floor, smell of thatched roof was not the most pleasant. Large room, cabin feel, very slippery floor in bathroom. Nice breakfast. A bit far (3 km) from main part of town where restaurants etc are located.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 26Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    49
    14
    11
    1
See reviews for
18
90
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I spent the weekend at Basse Provence in the beginning of May when i was there for a wedding. I booked into the Elizabeth Suite as a bit of an indulgence, and it was completely worth it. Even though I arrived well after what was supposed to be the check in time, the friendly staff waited around for me.
The room is gorgeous with a view of the mountains and fields. It's very peaceful there. Not too far to drive into town and surrounded by some nice wine farms and a great restaurant at Rickety Bridge. Breakfast at the Manor House was lovely and made to order, so it's fresh.

I'd highly recommend it for couple for a quiet weekend away, or even a solo traveller.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at Basse Provence Bastille weekend 13-14 July 2013. The rooms are spacious and unique and very good value. The staff were friendly and helpful, the cottage was beautiful, and the breakfasts were lovely! I will definitely recommend you to friends visiting the area in future.

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent two nights here while visiting the wine country in and surrounding Franschhoek. It is a lovely setting, set well off the main road into town. Our room was large, very comfortable, and well appointed. We stayed in the County House, which is a smaller house next to the Manor House. We had originally booked a second floor room with a thatched roof, but were upgraded upon arrival since the second floor rooms were being renovated. Much appreciated, since our room was quieter and bug-free. The breakfast served was delicious, and cooked to order. All the employees were very helpful and friendly. Franschhoek is a lovely town, and we enjoyed walking the downtown area. For travelers looking for a great stay in the South African wine country, we would recommend Basse Provence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The guest house is located along the main road and gives you a great base to explore Franschhoek. The rooms are spacious and unique and very good value. The free breakfast was nice as well. This is an excellent choice if you want a lovely quiet stay right in the heart of Franschhoek - you can even walk to the nearest vineyards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan186306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpignan, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was there for a friend's wedding last november and it was my first time in SA Despite the weather the venue and the hotel were brilliant! The staff was always welcoming, the food was delicious and the rooms very comfy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZazouKW15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a charming little Cape Dutch guesthouse, directly off the main road as you drive into Franschoek. We arrived quite late, but were given a very friendly welcome by Heidi who greeted us by name. We stayed in the Guest House rather than the Manor House, which has four beautiful suites, with huge beds equipped with baths and showers. It's a little too far to walk into Franschoek at night for dinner, but the hotel recommends local restaurants which will collect you and drop you home - consult the guide in your room to see which these are - so that you can enjoy the local wines over dinner. Perhaps the breakfasts don't quite match the standard of the rooms, but the sheer beauty of the setting is unbeatable.

Room Tip: Visit the hotel's own website for pictures of the individual rooms. All the Guest House rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
6.7 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#14 of 63 in Franschhoek
278 reviews
2.3 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#18 of 63 in Franschhoek
277 reviews
2.8 mi away
Auberge La Dauphine
Auberge La Dauphine
#39 of 63 in Franschhoek
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Auberge Clermont
Auberge Clermont
#22 of 63 in Franschhoek
182 reviews
4.4 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 63 in Franschhoek
359 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fransvliet Guest House
Fransvliet Guest House
#1 of 42 in Franschhoek
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basse Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basse Provence

Property: Basse Provence
Address: P.O.Box 455, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Basse Provence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Basse Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing