We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Basse Provence
Nearby Hotels
$313
$283
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$244
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
21 Roux Street(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$169
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$129
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$136
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
$386
$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$495
$411
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
$751
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
76
54
14
11
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
54
14
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrickety bridgeelizabeth suitemanor housethatched roofthe main roadsister propertystayed here for four nightsminutes by carclose to townseparate showercomfortable roomnice breakfastthe main houseb bsminute drivewonderful stayvisiting franschhoek
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 156 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A group of seven of us went to stay during a recent motorcycle tour of the area.

The first problem was that we were booked into the Rickety Bridge but they put us in the Basse Provence, which is basically fine but not if you get there at the end of a long day, the staff want to leave at 5pm and you arrive at 4:55pm!

Anyway, after arriving at the "wrong" place, all getting back on and going to the right place, we found the environment lovely and the accommodation rather quirky but fun.

The member of staff who showed us around was in a desperate hurry to leave and as a result our introduction was brief to say the least.

We took up almost all of the rooms but a couple of the other guests were shocked to see us in their cottage - one lady in particular seemed to think the whole place was hers and she was happily putting her bra on with her bedroom door wide open as four of us walked past! Also first thing the next morning there was a man who had a striking resemblance to Mr Bean doing exercises involving lots of contortions wearing only the tightest and smallest speedos - he did not acknowledge our existence in any way and seemed to close his eyes and wish us away.

Also a member of our group took a beer from a mini bar only to be told later that it belonged to another room - sorry to whoever had a slightly larger bill than they expected!

There is absolutely nothing to eat on site and it is a few km to the nearest restaurants. Fortunately the staff member did tell us about a place which would transport guests using their own car. We did this and supper was fine.

The night was windy and the trees made quite a noise (in a good way!). The winds also meant there were no strong smells from the nearby small sewage treatment plant, although I can see this being a problem in the hotter weather and if it still.

The TV channel choice was very limited but we were not very interested in that.

Overall we all came away having enjoyed the experience even if, at times, we felt like we were on the set of an old "Carry On" movie, sorry if this review comes across badly, that is not my intention but rather I'm just trying to make sure you don't do what we did by not knowing the score in advance.

I suggest if you go, you make sure you are staying in the main Rickety Bridge Manor, not the Basse Provence annex, but it is fun and reasonably priced - I would go back but knowing what I was in for would make it much better.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in the main Rickety Bridge Manor NOT the Basse Provence.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 171,959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in the cottage for two successive Saturdays to attend weddings in Franschhoek.The cottage was ideal for two couples (one with two little children) with two en suite bedrooms with large bathrooms with bath a shower separated by a living room with easy chairs, a sleeper couch on which the little ones slept, a dinin tabel for four, bar fridge and microwave, tea and coffee making and cutlery, crockery, and glassware for four.

The breakfast, which can be taken inside or outside on the patio,is reasonable but with nothin home made or special.

I Would rate this currently at 3&1/2 stars. It would certainly deserve four stars if the breakfast was a bit more interestin with some wow factor, a better entrance pathway created to the cottage (first impressions count), the night light moved to shine on the pathway without glaring into one's eyes, cushions and an umbrella provided for the seating areas on the patio and some shelves provided in the bathrooms for cosmtetic bags and toiletries.

Room Tip: We did not inspect the other seven rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We arrived early after flying in from London and were met by a very friendly and accommodating manager and team who sorted out an early check in for us. The room was spacious and the beds and pillows extremely comfortable, allowing this light sleeper a rare 12hrs! Breakfast was also delicious and we were given great recommendations for restaurants in the evening by the manager.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Travel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a really lovely B&B, well maintained with attentive and cheerful staff, good food and really tasty coffee. The beds were comfortable and the room had everything that we wanted. The only thing I found to regret was not having a shower in our room (we were in the main farm house) and although the roll top bath was a treat and looked so good, I would have appreciated having a shower really. Also, the AC was not very effective in our room, it cooled things down eventually but took about an hour or so. The distance into Franschhoek is only about 5 minutes by car and there are many restauranats/cafes to go to and lots of lovely shops to wander round, a daily market and a weekly market on Satrudays. The pool at the farmhouse is small and very intimate with a nice area to sit around on comfortable loungers and unbrellas.

The only thing that was really upsetting was that one of the three rooms (where two of our party were staying) in the main farm house is not ensuite and that isn't really pointed out. Some people may not mind this but it's a bit old fashioned in this day and age to have to don a robe and paddle off down the hall for the loo and a shower, isn't something we found that comfortable and being charged the same as all the other room doesn't seem right. So if you are thinking of booking and I would recommend Basse Provence in all other respects, do ask about whether you have ensuite facilities if that is an issue for you.

Room Tip: There are three rooms in the main farmhouse but one is not ensuite, so breakfast is just down one flight of stairs, otherwise you can stay in the annex and walk up to the farmhouse for your meal through the garden. The annexe is right beside the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjksurrey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Basse Provence was excellent, very homely atmosphere, quiet and tranquil and we loved the pool area, it was asif it was just there for us – private. The staff are so friendly, and I totally regret forgetting to leave a tip for Heidi. She is excellent, she noticed us walking up to the breakfast room and immediately was ready for us. The prices of their bar in the room is VERY reasonable. I wouldn’t mind going back there on my own. It’s just lovely, no complaints. (Just one thing, they need to fill the ice trays in the room so when guests arrive its already iced)
Their BEDS are to die for - so comfortable, i wanted to take one home!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews