We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basse Provence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Basse Provence
Ranked #40 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in room no. 3 upstrais in the main manor house. We place is really beautiful... very well kept and our room was modern with the latest luxuries. TV was a bit old school (not flat screen) but they offered DSTV with loads of channels which made up for it. The bathroom was great with an old-style victorian bath and underfloor heating!

The staff were super friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was amazing - the offer a small a la carte menu but the food is good and the service is great! Would def recommend and go back again and again!

Note that it's just outside the town - about a 5 min drive to the main road in Franschhoek - but that's why we liked it... a little way from the hussle and bustle! Excellent place... well worth visiting!!!

Room Tip: Stay upstrais in the manor house! Room no. 3 if you can :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    49
    12
    11
    1
See reviews for
18
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

my husband an i stayed there for one night and had such a relax time.everything was so comfortable(lots of hotttt water),friendly staff.we went for wine tasting at their wine farm RICKETY BRIGDE and stayed there the whole day just relaxing and take in the breath taking views

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had a great time in the very peaceful and beautiful Basse Provence. Service was good, and the breakfast was delicious. A great place to stay in Franschhoek, with friendly staff, and comfortable, and clean rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were in town for a friend's wedding and were really spoilt for choice, there are a lot of Guest houses in Franschhoek! Franschhoek is such a historic town, so we decided, when in Rome....and Basse Provence's manor house dates back to 1855, but gives you all the modern facilities you need. Plus beautiful views, peaceful surroundings, friendly staff and lots of space. The rate you pay is very affordable ( value for our Rand ), and I would highly recommend the Gideon suite in the annex, very private, especially if you partied late and you want to lie in the next morning without noise from the breakfast room!

Room Tip: Gideon suite - beautiful view, downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matty269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Nice place, very clean, friendly staff. Maybe we are unlucky, bur there was party going on till very late (on Thu night), with very loud disco music. They could have at least invited us! We were expecting a relaxing place in the middle of nowhere...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcoscara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freezinmyassoff, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed overnight as a romantic getaway and was very impressed with the standard of the guesthouse. We only paid around R900 which is quite cheap for Franschoek but seemed to get well worth our money.

Stayed upstairs in the guest house in Elizabeth Suite. Very spacious and great bed! TV wasn't flatscreen but came with all satellite TV channels which was good.

Walked down to Rickety Bridge for wine tasting which is part of the same farm. Very proffessional service and the wine was excellent.

Swam in the pool as the sun was shining which capped off a great day before heading into town for some food

Breakfast was lovely out in the garden and cooked to your preference.

Checking in and out was a simple service.

Definately recommend this hotel.

Only slight negative is there should be a member of staff 24 hours in the guest house to answer any questions or help with rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaythelawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four nights (bed and breakfast), a couple of kilometres outside Franschhoek, and used it as a base for wine-tasting in the region.

The guest houses in South Africa are very good value and this one is no exception. The room was very reasonably priced (800 Rand a night for the two of us), spacious, well appointed and also had good aircon, which in summer was really necessary. Shani, the Manager, gave us excellent advice and help finding restaurants, giving directions and booking tickets; she steered us away from the tourist traps too.

As for the setting? Franschhoek (and the guest house) have some spectacular views.

Stunning all-round. I would go there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocCrooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House
1.2 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#18 of 65 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#24 of 65 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#10 of 65 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.0 mi away
Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek
Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek
#30 of 65 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Maison d'Ail Guest House
#15 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basse Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basse Provence

Property: Basse Provence
Address: P.O.Box 455, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Basse Provence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Basse Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing