We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #4 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the luxury suite, and it was absolutely lovely. The facilities are super luxurious, the staff are extremely hospitable and friendly, and we really enjoyed the supper that was tailor made to our fancy. We will most definitely plan another trip soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
There are newer reviews for Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 395 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband & I went to Angala for two days last week, for our first anniversary. We were both incredibly impressed. The staff are wonderful - very attentive & friendly. Our luxury suite was exquisite. We had a huge bed with quality bedding, a fully equipped kitchenette, a fire, stunning bathroom & to top it all an outside shower which we used on both days. All fixtures & fittings were very well thought out with exceptional attention to detail. We opted to have dinner one night & we are very glad we made that choice. The resident chef cooked us a delicious meal & it was served with a smile. Breakfast was also outstanding. To wake up to birds singing, stunning views & a wonderful sense of calm certainly made this a trip to remember. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I just want to compliment the owners of Cathbert Country Inn on an absolutely beautiful establishment. Everything was of the highest quality and the bedding, food, service, view and well designed eco pool were world class. What you pay for is what you get.
Tip: If you are a fussy eater, it is advisable to phone ahead to check what is on the menu.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mientjie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

There's always doubt when checking into any hotel. Will it be good value for money? Will it be quiet? Will it be comfortable etc.?

Cathbert was the most completely trouble free and enjoyable stay I have ever had.

All the comforts are in place, and the service is extremely friendly and warm - even from staff that worked in the back of the hotel.

It was the small touches, however, that made it so much more than we've experienced before. Lovers of fine goods will be delighted by the high standard of fit and finish in the rooms and the lounge areas: from Nespresso machines in each room to Morso fireplaces - also in each room - and crockery by Villeroy & Boch. Coupled with a conscientious design ethic - conveyed most meaningfully by the eco-swimming pool which is completely chemical free and uses plants and natural processes to keep the water crystaline - our stay at Cathbert's was more like a weekend at a friend's luxurious house than at a formal establishment.

When we stayed there only 4 of the 9 rooms were in service - due to renovations. But the renovations are taking place at the back of the hotel - out of sight and out of earshot. The reason I mention this is that capacity is limited, so book your room as soon as possible. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2 and 3 have the best views and gardens, while room 4 features it's own very private ga...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judge404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were looking for somewhere quiet with good views to get away from it all for a night. Cathbert is wonderfully quiet and the public areas and rooms are beautifully done, with very smart decks and fabulous outside showers. Our only disappointment was that we had asked for a room with a view but our room (no 4) only had a view of a tree, however the manager did offer to compensate us for this. The pool looked lovely, although we didn't swim. The food was delicious and we loved having a nespresso machine in our room. However I would say that Cathbert is on the expensive side.

Room Tip: Ask for a view if you want one! (not room 4)
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joboMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent two lovely nights at Cathbert during our honeymoon. We were welcomed by Anne and Robert who are utterly charming and very helpful, organising us an amazing wine tour and adding wonderful personal touches (including rose petals on our bed on the first night).

Our room was and remains the most beautiful room we have ever stayed in and I think it will be hard to beat! Everything about Cathbert is finished to a very high quality, looks beautiful but manages to be welcoming and comfortable. The eco-pool was also wonderful.

We asked to eat at Cathbert on the first evening, imagining that we would head into Franschhoek the following evening, but the food was so wonderful that we ended up staying for dinner on night two too! As you would imagine, breakfast was also absolutely yummy!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed by the former owners, who were most charming. The rooms were out of this world as were the gardens into which they led; the views were superb, a slice of heaven. Imagine our surprise then, when we went to the restaurant and were confronted by a belligerent, aggressive "restaurant manager". He told us there was a set menu with no choice. The whole experience was thoroughly unpleasant. However, breakfast the following morning was an total contrast and absolutely wonderful. By far the best selection we have experienced in 3 weeks. We have no hesitation in recommending the Cathbert Country Inn but not it's evening meal - change is needed here

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3waltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
11.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
10.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
11.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
11.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
10.9 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: Corner R45 & Klapmuts Road | Through the Vrede en Lust Farm, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $231 - $743 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 Star Angala Boutique Hotel is where homely luxury blends with the pristine beauty of nature. Located in the heart of the Cape Winelands between magnificent mountains, Angala is a retreat for body, mind and spirit. Our suites and cottages are spacious, fully equipped and private. We have paid special attention to decoration and finer details - clean lines and natural colours are paired with authentic touches throughout. Look out for carefully selected decoration items, sculptures and pieces in our rooms and on our premises, each with a unique origin and story. Angala encompasses an holistic ethos and the property offers its guests facilities including an eco pool, infrared sauna, steam room, and ozonated solar heated pool with spa. Treat yourself to a variety of professional spa and massaging treatments, in the comfort and privacy of your own room. Pearl Valley, Boschenmeer, De Zalze and Stellenbosh golf estates are internationally renowned golf courses, all within close proximity of Angala. Make it your base for exploring the winelands, or indulge in the harmony of our spacious suites and cottages. Whether you're drawn to the pure, natural surroundings, or you just need to get away from it all, you'll experience what you're looking for, right here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing