We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right to chill out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #4 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amersham
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just right to chill out”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We returned here to spend a few days relaxing in the sunshine, knowing the personal service and charming rooms were all we needed. Since our last visit the swimming pool has been changed - and you can swim amongst the water lilies and dragon flies, knowing that your skin will be soft and smooth (and safe from chlorine). Aubrey will offer you a delightful dinner menu (Carpaccio of springbok, plaited salmon trout, superb pannacotta on our last night) with wonderful wines - but don't hesitate to order and enjoy the platter when chef Max is off on Sundays. Renewing the remaining lodges will result in a change of name next year - but do search for them well in advance. .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrado179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    36
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
275
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen, scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Located not far from either Stellenbosch or Franschhoek its a bit from the road but well worth the trip thro the vineyard. We booked too late to get one of the lodges but the room was perfectly adequate. Arriving on a sunday we hadn't prebooked dinner but were served a platter of cold cuts which would have fed us for a week. Dinner the next evening was absolutely superb, overseen by a really good guy (Aubrey??) I'd go back just for that. All staff were very very helpful and the main lounge / dining area is truly superb

Room Tip: Get one of the Lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patbarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here recently on a recommendation and were delighted - it is located about 2.5 Kim's from the road and is truly a hidden gem - the views are spectacular and watching the sun set reflecting red on the mountains was amazing. Food was excellent and staff very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE TOWN
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Cathbert Inn was recommended to us by Vrede-en-Lust as they were fully booked and we were attending a wedding there. The 2.4 km little tar road meanders past vineyards, farm gates etc.with speedbumps so you can't rush, which means your retreat has already begun. We were welcomed by Carmen and the grey striped cat with big eyes. Friendly service, super clean, beautifully decorated family suite chalet, a Morphy Richards kettle, super breakfast all incl. R2530.00.per night. Beautifully scenery, close to Stellenbosch, Paarl and Cape Town. We will stay there any time we need some me time> well worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view over the value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARGARET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarvia, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Don't be misled by this property's website! The traditional colonial-style main building has had a complete makeover and is now unrecognisable. It is all very comfortable but is now more another "boutique hotel" than a country inn. The main public space is completely open-plan with lots of glass and decking and the swimming pool has been transformed into an eco-pool (including tadpoles and green slime but this should rectify itself in time!). The views are wonderful but only if you have one of the four luxury suites at the front. The other rooms at the back, while of good size and well designed, have only a small enclosed garden and no benefit of the stunning location of the property.

The breakfasts were excellent and the staff very friendly and attentive. In fact the hospitality overall was exemplary. Although there was no choice at dinner, we were very impressed with the quality of the cooking..... and the price was reasonable.

Would we return for another stay? Maybe but only if we booked one of the rooms at the front with more privacy and that wonderful view!

If you do stay here, do go and visit the vineyard at Babylonstoren a few miles away, for it's gardens and excellent restaurant.

Room Tip: A luxury suite at the front for the view and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Cathbert is a real treasure. The surrounding valley has a lot to offer and the competition is stuff so hotels need to make a lot of effort to stand out. Cathbert does that and succeeds. From the moment I arrived until I left I was treated like a VIP. My suite was simply stunning with everything one could wish for in a quality establishment, the bedroom was heaven with a huge bed and lovely beding, the bathroom to die for with shower and a massive bath (not very eco-friendly to have a big bath too often these days but you can treat yourself once in a while and this one is worth it) complete with top quality toiletries and thick towels.

The food was outstanding and the service too, both supper and breakfast.

The Inn is high up in the mountains of Franschhoek with the most stunning views and there is a wonderful eco swimming pool that will definitely surprise all visitors.

I will definitely be back and will recommend Cathbert to all my friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francoise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Out of the way in a stunning location this place is so tranquil it is hard to take yourself away and see the area.
The accomodation is first class in cabins, luxuriously fitted out, just a few metres away from the main eating and relaxing area. Here Max (the Chef) and Aubrey(a relaxed and attentive host), will provide the most beautiful meals. So much so that we decided against the more obvious gourmet food in Franshoek itself for two of our three evenings there.
The beautiful and well appointed outside area with it's Eco pool just finishes it off.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
11.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
11.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
165 reviews
10.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
11.2 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
539 reviews
9.8 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 63 in Franschhoek
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: Corner R45 & Klapmuts Road | Through the Vrede en Lust Farm, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 Star Angala Boutique Hotel is where homely luxury blends with the pristine beauty of nature. Located in the heart of the Cape Winelands between magnificent mountains, Angala is a retreat for body, mind and spirit. Our suites and cottages are spacious, fully equipped and private. We have paid special attention to decoration and finer details - clean lines and natural colours are paired with authentic touches throughout. Look out for carefully selected decoration items, sculptures and pieces in our rooms and on our premises, each with a unique origin and story. Angala encompasses an holistic ethos and the property offers its guests facilities including an eco pool, infrared sauna, steam room, and ozonated solar heated pool with spa. Treat yourself to a variety of professional spa and massaging treatments, in the comfort and privacy of your own room. Pearl Valley, Boschenmeer, De Zalze and Stellenbosh golf estates are internationally renowned golf courses, all within close proximity of Angala. Make it your base for exploring the winelands, or indulge in the harmony of our spacious suites and cottages. Whether you're drawn to the pure, natural surroundings, or you just need to get away from it all, you'll experience what you're looking for, right here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing