We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An exceptionally pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #4 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An exceptionally pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

I had occasion to stay at Cathbert for one night for my father's 75th birthday, with the rest of my family (8 altogether). Suffice it to say that the owners went the extra mile for us, to make the event special for guests of all ages. The setting and drive to the venue is beautiful, and the accommodation is central to several wine farms and at least 2 highly rated restaurants within a very short drive. I would recommend this for those who want to explore the Winelands and Franschhoek valley, but would like a quiet, restful retreat.

Of the rooms we stayed in, they were all beautifully decorated and comfortable, 2 with fireplaces, and the other 2 with exceptional spa-like bathrooms with spectacular views from the bath. The rooms have TV and cable, there's a great pool, and the dinner was very nice. And everybody, from the owners to the wait staff, were consistently friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Of the suites, only 2 rooms have fireplaces; the other 2 have slightly nicer bathrooms, with VIP vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGirlZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    35
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
268
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We recently spend a lovely winter’s weekend at Cathbert Country Inn. Everything from our initial interaction with Lynne to the breakfast, was worthy of 5 stars! If you are looking for somewhere to get away from it all and breathe fresh mountain air and experience some of the most amazing views of the Cape Vineyards, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

A wonderful retreat with all you could possibly desire and one of the best Breakfasts ... Especially the most divine French Toast ever experienced.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed at Cathbert Country Inn for three nights while on a marvalous ytip to Cape Town and environs. I can say a genuine "thank you" to the staff and management of Cathbert Inn for a truly
wonderful stay. Amy and I ate superb food while in the area, but none exceeded the quality and presentation of the two meals we ate at the Inn. My thanks to the chef (Max)and all those who assisted him in his kitchen. My thanks to you, Lynne and Aubrey, for pulling out all the stops for just the two of us. Your suggestions were "right on". We ignored one of them which, to our dismay, we should have followed, finding out only when we finally arrived for a flying visit to the site. My Bethelhem PA travel agent has already been given my comments. She does not have many clients traveling to SA, but I am sure she will recommend Cathbert County Inn if ever she has the opportunity. Thanks again, and Cheers. Donna M. Reemsnyder

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capetown10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Gorgeous view, a spacious and comfortable room with a cosy fireplace, delicious breakfast on the veranda. I've stayed here several times before over the years and I'll be back I'm sure, especially during winter when the rates are so reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

The view was amazing, and the service was excellent, the rooms were clean, would have loved have stayed for a few more days.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MicheleWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Absolutely beautiful setting, slightly outside of Franschhoek- which we loved, because it was lovely and quiet. Away from the "hustle and bustle".
The room was really beautiful- lovely bathroom with big bath. New decor- very clean and tidy. TV with DSTV in room. Tea and coffee making facilities very nice.
Breakfasts were amazing- fruit buffets were beautifully set out. Hot breakfasts were also great.
Hosts were absolutely fantastic- gave us great advice on the best places to visit. We had an amazing time and saw amazing places! We really recommend Cathbert for couples wanting a nice quiet, romantic trip away.

Room Tip: Luxury suite definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyDiffenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
11.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
10.4 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
11.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
11.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
11.3 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Property: Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Address: Corner R45 & Klapmuts Road | Through the Vrede en Lust Farm, Franschhoek 7670, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 Star Angala Boutique Hotel is where homely luxury blends with the pristine beauty of nature. Located in the heart of the Cape Winelands between magnificent mountains, Angala is a retreat for body, mind and spirit. Our suites and cottages are spacious, fully equipped and private. We have paid special attention to decoration and finer details - clean lines and natural colours are paired with authentic touches throughout. Look out for carefully selected decoration items, sculptures and pieces in our rooms and on our premises, each with a unique origin and story. Angala encompasses an holistic ethos and the property offers its guests facilities including an eco pool, infrared sauna, steam room, and ozonated solar heated pool with spa. Treat yourself to a variety of professional spa and massaging treatments, in the comfort and privacy of your own room. Pearl Valley, Boschenmeer, De Zalze and Stellenbosh golf estates are internationally renowned golf courses, all within close proximity of Angala. Make it your base for exploring the winelands, or indulge in the harmony of our spacious suites and cottages. Whether you're drawn to the pure, natural surroundings, or you just need to get away from it all, you'll experience what you're looking for, right here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing