We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of The Tasting Room - CLOSED

The Tasting Room
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $110 - $150
Cuisines: African, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Tasting Room at Le Quartier Francais is South Africa's most lauded fine-dining restaurant. It is the stage to award-winning Chef, Margot Janse, and her unique African Inspired Surprise Tasting Menu. Here, in this intimate setting, serious diners have the opportunity to experience a true journey of taste. With a menu that continues to evolve and astonish The Tasting Room, and its African Inspired cuisine, creates a dining experience unlike any other. One where surprise and nostalgia take centre stage. In The Tasting Room every African Inspired dish is exceptional and engaging. Truly refined with a distinct feminine touch and, at the same time, unexpectedly exciting ... Exhilarating in fact. It is this contradiction that results in The Tasting Room menu's outstanding balance and ensures that the cuisine is nothing short of a theatrical masterpiece.In The Tasting Room the journey extends further than just phenomenal cuisine; it moves fearlessly into the captivating realm of stories and magic. A place where each plate, and its African inspired elements, have the ability to captivate the hearts and minds of diners.The Tasting Room is open Tuesdays to Saturdays for dinner only. 19H00 till late.Please allow at least 3 hours for your dinner.
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Food was wonderful and service was excellent. Felt a little rushed but a nice experience nonetheless.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dublin123Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    142
    115
    74
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent and inventive”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Tasting room is an experience not to be missed! This restaurant would deserve a 3 star Michelin and to be put on the top of the list of the best restaurant of the word. Go for the 8 course surprise menu which is very good value. Our only slight disappointment was the wine, we went for the paring wine which we found bad value (average wine are proposed), we regretted not to have chosen instead a good SA bottle from the card which would have ended cheaper.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ACandEdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We went to this restaurant because we read it's one of the top 50 in the world (actually, this year it's #57) and it seemed a great way to end our holiday in South Africa. Although not cheap (for the five courses with wine pairings, it was about R1000 a head with tip), this nonetheless seemed like great value compared with comparable places world wide where you could easily pay double/triple that price.

We received a warm welcome from the moment we arrived, with various waiters and the manager (and later the chef) introducing themselves. We got more than the five stated courses in reality - before the five courses begin, you also receive "nibbles", which are all very interesting Heston Blumenthal-style creations with an African twist. Some of these were not really to my taste, but it was exciting to try them. As well as this, we got some delicious bread which had its own story as to why it was baked in a pilchards tin. After the five courses were over, there was a final extra dessert to share.

The five courses themselves were delectable. The menu is a surprise, so when each course arrives, the waiter explains to you what it is in front of you. None of the courses were a disappointment - and the wildebeest loin was a particular highlight. We went for the option with the wine pairings, which I'd definitely recommend, given this is Franschhoek! it was great to try so many different wines, and they were a real highlight of the meal for me.

If ever I find myself in Franschhoek again, I'll definitely go back. A gastronomic whirlwind which left our taste buds sated and happy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spitze1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrliberg Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a treat”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Although at the upper end of the price range, it is a true experience worth to spend it. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff, go for the 8 course menu with wine paring they are very generous about it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wailea99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An amazing experience with equal amounts of "oooh"s, "aaah"s and laughter”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

What can I say? Eight courses that blew us away, excellent service with a smile and a laugh, extra tidbits that made our eyes sparkle, a wonderful setting, and a bill that had us wondering where the other half of it went. So help me I even had them bring me another dessert because it was so good - and I'm not a dessert person! We will be coming back; the Tasting Room itself is worth the 14h trip!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emelysofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tasting Room also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing