We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food experience with a bit too little refinement ,.....”
Review of The Tasting Room - CLOSED

The Tasting Room
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $110 - $150
Cuisines: African, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Tasting Room at Le Quartier Francais is South Africa's most lauded fine-dining restaurant. It is the stage to award-winning Chef, Margot Janse, and her unique African Inspired Surprise Tasting Menu. Here, in this intimate setting, serious diners have the opportunity to experience a true journey of taste. With a menu that continues to evolve and astonish The Tasting Room, and its African Inspired cuisine, creates a dining experience unlike any other. One where surprise and nostalgia take centre stage. In The Tasting Room every African Inspired dish is exceptional and engaging. Truly refined with a distinct feminine touch and, at the same time, unexpectedly exciting ... Exhilarating in fact. It is this contradiction that results in The Tasting Room menu's outstanding balance and ensures that the cuisine is nothing short of a theatrical masterpiece.In The Tasting Room the journey extends further than just phenomenal cuisine; it moves fearlessly into the captivating realm of stories and magic. A place where each plate, and its African inspired elements, have the ability to captivate the hearts and minds of diners.The Tasting Room is open Tuesdays to Saturdays for dinner only. 19H00 till late.Please allow at least 3 hours for your dinner.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great food experience with a bit too little refinement ,.....”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

had a great food experience by Margot jansen the great female chef
very innovative ideas in african food ingredients however there was a clear need in more and more subtle ideas in the wine pairings.... the glasses were too big and by the end of the 8 course dinner many guests must have been struggling to keep their heads clear!.

More moderation and more consideration in the matching of the wines would have greatky enhanced thai memorable food experience .. The price warrants more care!! ..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    142
    115
    74
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DO IT BEFORE YOU DIE”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Yes, it is worth your savings, even if you are a South African! You have to experience the genius of legendary Margot. You will never forget the meal or the experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lita520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A stunning place and better value than Michelin restaurants in UK”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We visited The Tasting Rooms at Le Quartier Francais, Franschoek in August for our 25th wedding anniversary; it was wonderful! We have eaten in various Michelin starred restaurants in the UK and this was much better value for money at still the same standards. We had nine courses plus cake, coffe and liquer and a flight of wines. The difference to the UK was that our courses were different from each other so it was almost like having 14 courses. Following an appetizer of pink champagne and mis en bouche our first 3 courses were the same; however the following course, my husband had oyster with sour fig, vichysoisse and roasted cos lettuce. I am allergic to oyster so mine was curry dusted kingklip, yellow dhal, kale, braised spices and tomato confit - we thought the change would stop there but the following 4 courses were different again. Each time we had a different course we received a different wine. Of course, in Franschoek, the wines were exceptional! I cannot speak highly enough of this restaurant - we eat regularly at Midsummer House in Cambridge - a 3* restaurant and the tasting menu there for approximately 10 courses is about £165 with a fight of wines - The Tasing Room is about £82.50 - if you're in Franschoek you shouldn't miss it!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jlw5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A special occassion”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We chose the tasting room for a special occassion and therefore quite prepared to pay the rather expensive rate for the food and wine pairing.
The food was outstanding and such a variety of different flavours. The disappointment came with the pairing. The person serving us had no idea what she was talking about. The wines were good wines but the " food and wine pairing" experience was disappointing.Fortunately we had an outstanding waitress -Pauline who made up for any disappointment we were feeling. She was jovial and involved and tried her best to assist the wine lady!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie201954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Book ahead.. Just do it!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Executive Chef Margot Janse is a wizard in the kitchen. Our meal was fantastic!!! We were celebrating our anniversary and it was a perfect evening. This was one of our best meals, ever and we are "foodies". We kept saying "How did she do that? Isn't this fun!!" Trust her to treat you to a memorable meal with great wine pairings. You won't be sorry!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CAGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tasting Room also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing