We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal of My Life”

Grande Provence Estate Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 81 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Grande Provence Heritage Wine Estate wears her 300-year history with style. Nestled within the Franschhoek Valley in the Western Cape, surrounded by 47-acres of lush vines, this is heartland South African wine country at its finest. The Estate is home to Grande Provence’s award-winning wines and its passionate wine making team. Following harvest every year, carefully selected wines leave the Estate to compete in some of the world’s most prestigious competitions – the number and frequency of the awards bears testament to their success. A sophisticated destination in its own right, Grande Provence proudly presents superb cuisine at The Restaurant, fine wines at The Tasting Room, some of South Africa’s finest art at The Gallery & The Shop, receptions and boutique conferences at The Jonkershuis and 5-star accommodation at The Owner’s Cottage.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

10 out of 10 for every step of the meal. I started with the butternut squash risotto - perfection. Then the beef tenderloin with asparagus and hollandaise - delicious. Chocolate pudding for dessert with the honeycomb, hazelnut cream - incredible. The wine suggestions were also perfectly paired. Will definitely return on our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Katie K

What a pleasure if was to read your review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal, and the Chef and his team are delighted with your spesific feedback about the food.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcome you back at our lovely Estate.

Safe Travels!

Kind Regards

Karien van Heeren
Social Media & Online Marketing
The Huka Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 376 of 693 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were met at the door with a nice glass of wine and were able to stroll the beautiful gardens, look through the art gallery and take our time. We ate a delicious lunch on the patio and enjoyed every bite! Firt class!

Thank CherylVez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear CherylVez

Thank you very much for your kind words, and the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wine and appreciated our lovely gardens!

Please do not hesitate to pop in again soon, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back at Grande Provence Heritage Wine Estate.

Warm Regards

Karien van Heeren
Social Media & Online Marketing
The Huka Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is part of the top restaurants in town. The food is brilliant. The wine is incredible. Extraordinary art collection. Wonderful setting and good all round service. A must for every visitor to Franshhoek.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mmmmmnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Mmmmmnice

What a pleasure to have read your review on your recent trip to our beautiful Estate.

Thank you very much for your kind words, especially labeling us as the best in town!

Be assured that I will share your comments with the team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Warm Regards

Karien van Heeren
Social Media & Online Marketing
The Huka Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is fine dining as it should be! Perfect service and a stunning menu.3 course menu for just over 300 Rand.... Even the wine list is very well priced and the wines from the estate are very good. Try the Pinot Noir for under R300!
Thank you very much and we will be back.

Thank Axel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Axel D

Thank you very much for your short but detailed feedback. It is such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your recent visit!

We do feel that our menu provides a great culinary experience, but at the same time value for money.
We also offer new winter dishes and specials such as our Tuesday 2-course curry evenings by Durban born Executive Chef Darren Badenhorst - which is a must-try!

Our Pinot Noir is a personal favorite of mine, and very popular, and I am so happy that you enjoyed it too!

Please visit us again soon. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Karien van Heeren

Social Media & Online Marketing
The Huka Retreats

Twitter: @grande_provence
Facebook: http://on.fb.me/xXlnj3

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We recently had lunch at Grande Provence and enjoyed every morsel. The food and wine were top notch in an unbeatable setting ... the best meal we had in Franschhoek over three days .. and because of all that we can forgive the slightly poor service!
Do make the trip: you will not be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AABUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grande Provence Estate Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Grande Provence Estate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing