We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - this is no Pancake House”

Grande Provence Estate Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 76 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Grande Provence Heritage Wine Estate wears her 300-year history with style. Nestled within the Franschhoek Valley in the Western Cape, surrounded by 47-acres of lush vines, this is heartland South African wine country at its finest. The Estate is home to Grande Provence’s award-winning wines and its passionate wine making team. Following harvest every year, carefully selected wines leave the Estate to compete in some of the world’s most prestigious competitions – the number and frequency of the awards bears testament to their success. A sophisticated destination in its own right, Grande Provence proudly presents superb cuisine at The Restaurant, fine wines at The Tasting Room, some of South Africa’s finest art at The Gallery & The Shop, receptions and boutique conferences at The Jonkershuis and 5-star accommodation at The Owner’s Cottage.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow - this is no Pancake House”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The setting - the view - the service - WOW! Paradise Deluxe! This is a must do culinary experience. If you want to begin or end your visit to this delightful village, this is the place to ensure it is extraordinaire!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate Restaurant, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Jennifer P

Thank you for your feedback and kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind Regards

Karien van Heeren
Guest Relations & Social Media
The Huka Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    119
    82
    38
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed and expensive !”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We booked for Christmas lunch, at over R700 per person, not including wine. I do not eat meat, which was added to our prepaid confirmation. The Estate and gardens are beautiful, and the dining room very attractive, though rather crowded with tables on this holiday lunch. We arrived at 12.30 and asked to be seated, also saying that we were having to leave at about 2.30 pm. The first thing we noticed was that a number of tables, including ours, were missing the silver Christmas crackers. The waitress explained that a last minute re arrangement of tables, caused this oversight. I asked what I was having as a main course, as I didn't eat Beef or Pork, hoping for Duck, fresh Fish, Prawns, Guinea fowl etc. and was rather disappointed that chicken was on offer. As a starter came Turkey Rillettes, about a 1 inch square, looking pre-cut, and left standing on a counter too long, slightly brown and dried out.1 mouthful and rather tastless. Next (35 minutes later) came 1 Scallop, which was very good and our 2nd mouthful of food. Another 40 minute wait for a small bowl of good mushroom broth, 6 spoonfuls. Lastly came another 30 minutes wait for a 3 mouthful piece of seared Tuna, and a bit of relish. As the thought of a long wait for a piece of chicken seemed not really an exciting option, we asked for our wine bill (the bottle of Chenin, still 3/4 full sitting in the wine cooler), which the Manager generously gave us complimentary, and we departed. The service is confused and very slow, the food absolutely not value for money, and inconsistent in quality, all in all it was a complete lack of execution and organisation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DUrquhart_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We were disappointed with our visit”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I visited Grande Provence for lunch on Dec. 23, 2012 after being referred by our tour guide the previous day. When we arrived we waited at the gate for the security guard for several minutes before being pointed to the left turn towards the winery. Once we arrived the parking security guard was very pleasant and the property was pleasing. We walked towards the restaurant and had to search for a waitress to ask if we were allowed to seat ourselves, which was disappointing as we are use to being greeted. Being we didn't have a reservation we were seated inside which was a lovely atmosphere. We both ordered the sole off the bistro lunch menu, however, when we got our dish we found that I got the dish off the bistro lunch and my husband got the dish of the dinner menu. We also found our servers to be unwelcoming. We left immediately after eating our lunch as we didn't feel comfortable and felt like the atmosphere was slightly pretentious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
159 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Good service and a nice atmosphere but food inconsistent. salmon starters and the pork belly missed the mark. I felt pork belly dry. My wife however had a very good fillet steak.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BushFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate Restaurant, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear BushFreak

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

Our Pork Belly is one of our most popular dishes. However, we took note of your comments and are happy to hear your wife was satisfied with her steak which is of the highest quality.

It would be great to welcome you back in the future, so that we can impress you with a great experience and meal!

Kind Regards

Karien van Heeren
Guest Relations & Social Media
The Huka Retreats





Good service and a nice atmosphere but food inconsistent. salmon starters and the pork belly missed the mark. I felt pork belly dry. My wife however had a very good fillet steak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
201 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

What an awesome place. Dropped in for lunch and it was really good. Sat outside in the court yard. Food and service was brilliant and good selection on the menu. Well worth the visit

Helpful?
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate Restaurant, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Marcus S

How great to hear that you enjoyed your lunch at Grande Provence Heritage Estate.

Thank you for sharing your feedback on a public forum such as Trip Advisor. Please visit us when you are in the beautiful valley of Franschhoek again!

Many Thanks

Karien van Heeren
Social Media & Guest Relations
The Huka Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grande Provence Estate Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Grande Provence Estate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing