We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Provence Estate Restaurant

Grande Provence Estate Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 75 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $36
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Grande Provence Heritage Wine Estate wears her 300-year history with style. Nestled within the Franschhoek Valley in the Western Cape, surrounded by 47-acres of lush vines, this is heartland South African wine country at its finest. The Estate is home to Grande Provence’s award-winning wines and its passionate wine making team. Following harvest every year, carefully selected wines leave the Estate to compete in some of the world’s most prestigious competitions – the number and frequency of the awards bears testament to their success. A sophisticated destination in its own right, Grande Provence proudly presents superb cuisine at The Restaurant, fine wines at The Tasting Room, some of South Africa’s finest art at The Gallery & The Shop, receptions and boutique conferences at The Jonkershuis and 5-star accommodation at The Owner’s Cottage.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Every year the finish to this restaurant gets better ! Non-intrusive attention to one's wishes combined with faultless presentation made this the best meal of the year to date. The Pork Belly
was delicious ; the crackling so good as to be stolen by my wife.
Returning to the faultless Grande Provence "Owner's Cottage" completed the evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate Restaurant, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Simon1949

What a pleasure it was for all of us to read your delightful review. Thank you very much for your positive feedback and kind words!

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the Pork Belly (and crackling!) -carefully presented by Chef Darren Badenhorst and his Team - but also your stay at our very special Owner's Cottage.

We are looking very much forward to welcome you and your wife back at Grande Provence - soon we hope!

Yours Sincerely

Karien van Heeren
Guest Relations & Social Media
The Huka Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    116
    81
    36
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Tables are available both indoors and outdoors and mine was carefully chosen to provide a special setting to return the recent hospitality given to us by my daughter and her husband who reside in Cape Town. There is a superb menu and wine list both of which were very good value and which provided a most memorable family lunch. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank thudjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate Restaurant, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear thudjock

Thank you for posting your kind review on the site.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful setting, menu and wines! Be assured that your comments will be shared with all teams involved.

We look forward welcoming you and your family back - hopefully in the not so distant future!

Kind Regards

Karien van Heeren
Guest Relations & Social Media
The Huka Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WoW! 5 star dining experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We saved the best for last. This was our last meal in South Africa and it was excellent. The food, service, and presentation was wonderful. The ambiance is outstanding. We visited the tasting room earlier in the day and purchased a bottle of Cabernet that we were hoping to enjoy at dinner. At the time, we weren't sure where we were dining that evening. When we arrived at the restaurant an hour later with our wine we were told that we wouldn't be able to enjoy our wine in their restaurant and we would have to purchase wine from them. We didn't want to transport the wine home so we asked if we could pay difference in the cost of the bottle of wine. The manager said that this would be okay. Thank goodness because we didn't want to pay for extra weight in our luggage to transport our wine home.
We are looking forward to our next visit and I highly recommend this restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate Restaurant, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Cathy L

What a compliment to read that you saved our Restaurant for your last meal in South Africa and that you enjoyed it so much!

I am happy to hear that the little hick-up with the bottle of wine got sorted in a positive and efficient way!
You can always purchase some of our world-class Grande Provence wines via our website, or any of our easy-drinking Angels Tears wines via "The Cape of Good Hope Wine Company" in Scottsdale, AZ.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the future,

Safe Travels,

Karien van Heeren
Guest Relations & Social Media
The Huka Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You don't like wine? Go for the art!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Beautiful vineyard, stylish tasting room, amazing restaurant, beautifully kept grounds. If that's not enough to make you want to go: The gallery is fabulous, the setting remarkable.

Enjoy strolling around, checking out the small shop and relax over a couple of astounding glasses of red.

One of my favourites in the area!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hello-Ms-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate Restaurant, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Hello-Ms-B

Wow, what a lovely review! Thank you so much for your kind words.

We are so happy to hear that you appreciated our beautiful gardens and surroundings which we are very proud of, but also our fabulous Art Gallery, shop and world-class Red Wines!

Grande Provence were the winner in the Arts and Culture category at this year's GWC awards, but also 3rd for Architecture and Landscapes. We always strive to improve and be a top establishment in the Franschhoek Valley.

Please visit us again soon!

Kind Regards
Karien van Heeren
Guest Relations & Social Media
The Huka Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
253 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Overrated and disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Maybe our expectations were too high, but we were sorely disappointed by our dinner here. The Cajun soft shelled crab appetizer was greasy and over-breaded. Although the filet was tasty, the sides were not special. Also the wine was not nearly as good as the wine we had in nearby wineries. We won't be back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank swannygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate Restaurant, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Swannygal

Thank you to have spared your valuable time in giving us some feedback on your recent experience at our Estate Restaurant.

It is very disappointing- but also surprising- to hear that you did not enjoy the soft shelled crab appetizer as its our highest ordered starter, and very popular with our Guests!

Our Estate Wines have won many awards and accolades over the years, and we are very proud of our unique range.

We hope that you will consider another visit to our restaurant, so that we can impress you with a wonderful meal.

Kind Regards

Karien van Heeren
Guest Relations & Social Media
The Huka Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grande Provence Estate Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Grande Provence Estate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing