We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”

Grande Provence Estate Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 79 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Grande Provence Heritage Wine Estate wears her 300-year history with style. Nestled within the Franschhoek Valley in the Western Cape, surrounded by 47-acres of lush vines, this is heartland South African wine country at its finest. The Estate is home to Grande Provence’s award-winning wines and its passionate wine making team. Following harvest every year, carefully selected wines leave the Estate to compete in some of the world’s most prestigious competitions – the number and frequency of the awards bears testament to their success. A sophisticated destination in its own right, Grande Provence proudly presents superb cuisine at The Restaurant, fine wines at The Tasting Room, some of South Africa’s finest art at The Gallery & The Shop, receptions and boutique conferences at The Jonkershuis and 5-star accommodation at The Owner’s Cottage.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

nice place, good food, price comparing with other restaurants in the region, same quality, very high. Recommended wine, good, expensive. Service excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Sentjur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate Restaurant, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Sentjur

Thank you for your kind comments and for choosing our restaurant in the beautiful Franschhoek Valley.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food, wine and special mention about the excellent service!

Please do visit us again soon!

Kind Regards

Karien van Heeren
Guest Relations & Social Media
The Huka Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    120
    82
    39
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had lunch here during our brief stay in Franschhoek. It's a neat dining room, pretty modern/chic. Our table was right in front of the fireplace, which was a great spot. The appetizers and main courses are certainly creative (maybe getting close to being too creative for my tastes) and well prepared. Presentation of the dishes is artful -- main courses on big slabs of slate with lots of garnishes. Everything was cooked perfectly, and service was very professional -- slightly on the formal side. The Grande Provence property is interesting, with some funky art pieces on the grounds and in the museum. Nice for a post-meal stroll...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear CDP5

Thank you for writing a detailed review after your recent visit to our Estate Restaurant.

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience with us and enjoyed the food , décor and ambience in the Restaurant.

We are very proud of our beautiful gardens, our Art Gallery and Sculpture Garden that are the venues for many world class events such as the upcoming “Franschhoek Art in Clay” Festival, where we host various top South African ceramists and artists.

Be assured we took note of all your comments and that it had been communicated to all staff involved.

Once again, thank you for your kind words, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Karien van Heeren
Guest Relations & Social Media
The Huka Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“For a special evening”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

There were seven of us so we were offered the Chef's room complete with fireplace, lounging space pre-dinner and an amazing room. The Chef's menu was excellent and the wine pairings perfect. Great value and superb service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank REO-LTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate Restaurant, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Randal O

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience at
Grande Provence Heritage Estate.

It is fantastic to hear that you and your group enjoyed the Chef's menu,
our world famous wine selection and also the service and ambience.

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Please visit us soon again,

Safe Travels!

Kind Regards

Karien van Heeren - The Huka Retreats
Guest Relations & Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“French chic south african style”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The restaurant offered a 3 course menu with several choices per course. Each dish was an interesting blend of textures and flavours. We both had the Teriyaki duck and mushroom broth followed by fillet of beef with porcini crush. Each dish was beautifully presented. The beef, cooked medium rare was a melt in the mouth experience. Each course was served with a suggested wine from the GP estate. We had the Shiraz, followed by the cabernet sauvignon, both very good. We followed this with a chocolate desert. Wow! The staff were attentive and helpful without being too formal or overbearing. A wonderful evening.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PJKUK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate Restaurant, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear PJKUK99

Thank you very much for your detailed posting and valued feedback.

It is such a delight to read that you not only enjoyed your meal, but also our wines that are carefully chosen to complement the wonderfully creative dishes. Be sure that we will inform the Chef and his passionate team about your comments and please make sure to visit our beautiful Estate soon and know that a chocolate desert is waiting for you!

Kind Regards

Karien van Heeren - The Huka Retreats
Guest Relations & Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch, best wines in Franschhoek”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The place is beautifully set against the wineyards and has a beautiful well-designed garden, stuffed with sculptures, oak trees and fountains. Adjacent to the restaurant is a nice art gallery.

We did some lunch which was excellent in taste and really beautifully laid out on the platter. Friendly staff.

Also did the winetasting, which we loved We were especially fond of the Viognier Chenin Blanc blend (which we already enjoyed during lunch).

All in all the best wine estate experience we had in Franschhoek, because scenery, food and wine were right!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maurits K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate Restaurant, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Maurits K

We want to thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review and for all your positive feedback!

We are proud of our beautiful estate and are pleased to hear that you also appreciated the beautiful landscape and gardens.

Your feedback had been communicated to all the staff involved, as we take all comments - positive and negative - seriously.

We look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards

Karien van Heeren - The Huka Retreats
Guest Relations & Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grande Provence Estate Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Grande Provence Estate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing