We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PERFECT RETREAT FOR TWO - SETTING NEW STANDARDS...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Outdoor living on the shaded veranda
Sitting area
Bedroom with King Double Bed
King Double
Indulge yourself in the standing bath
His and Hers Vanitries
Fully fitted kitchen
Shaded patio
Private pool
Far reaching mountain views.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Franschhoek, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
TripTipsL...
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“PERFECT RETREAT FOR TWO - SETTING NEW STANDARDS FOR SELF CATERING.”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Saddlebrook cottage has all the ingredients for the perfect rural retreat, and takes self catering to a whole new level.
As seasoned travelers of over 25 years, my partner and I have not found better.
The cottage is really lovely, sheer elegance in a rural setting, superbly furnished and equipped for two.
The private walled garden and pool are set within a much larger park like garden, with magnificent mountain views. We were completely secluded, yet within minutes of the busy village centre.
We were welcomed by John with genuine enthusiasm. Both he and Russell are warm charming and attentive hosts, and will not miss a detail to make your stay memorable.
Thanks also to Hannock for keeping the cottage immaculate throughout our visit - always smiling.
Our weeks stay wasn't enough, we will return for longer next time.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam C
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay with gorgeous views.”
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

On arrival, a basket of fruit, a card and some chilled wine set the tone for a wonderful stay in such a stunning area.

The cottage is done to perfection with every little touch covered, a comfy bed, private pool and a great amount of space.

Russell and John have done an amazing job in making us feel very welcome and offered a great stay.

Without any hesitation, I would stay here again and recommend.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stop looking - stay HERE!!”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I don't think it is possible to find a nicer, more private, more luxurious place to stay in all of Franschhoek. This is the perfect place for a couple or single traveler. Very large and elegantly furnished private cottage with private pool and the most expansive uninterrupted views of the spectacular mountains surrounding Franschhoek. Spacious and finely appointed spa bathroom, very comfortable high end furnishings, fully equipped kitchen, and a most comfortable bed. The outdoor patio by the pool is equally large and comfortably, tastefully furnished. Easy access to all that Franschhoek has to offer yet providing the utmost in privacy. Hosts John and Russell are extremely gracious and are most helpful in recommending things to do and places to eat in Franschhoek and surrounding area. Treat yourself and stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilaflor
Canary Islands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“EXCEPTIONAL STAY IN SUBLIME LUXURY”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
6
people found this review helpful

We knew from the moment we arrived that this was going to be a special place.
A chilled bottle of wine and 2 glasses were already on the terrace awaiting us.
The cottage although just for 2 people is huge and beautifully furnished. Most comfortable bed ever. The housekeeper Hannock did a daily tidy and changed linens etc. whilst we were out, he was charming & very discrete. The private garden was lovely with our own heated pool. Lots of special touches like the picnic hamper provided and welcome bowl of fruit.
There are several wine estates within walking distance, as is the village.
On an adjoining farm we found an exceptional restaurant called "Cafe Bon Bon" which was much more than just a cafe! - we had breakfast, lunch and dinner there during our weeks stay, it was very handy.
The owners Russell & John are really friendly, & so helpful in many ways.
We felt truly privileged to stay here & guarantee you won't want to leave, we didn't!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irthlingb...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The most comfortable and enjoyable place we have ever stayed, anywhere.”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
4
people found this review helpful

This is a really luxurious, very safe, and very comfortable cottage one could ever desire. It is furnished with care and quality to create a most relaxing cottage which once stayed in few would ever wish to leave! We have visited South Africa every year for extended stays since 2004 and in that time have hired many cottages and apartments, we have almost invariably been happy with our choices but Saddlebrook comes into a category all of its own. The fittings in the kitched are magnificent quality, the private pool and wonderful outdoor seating and relaxing area are all anyone could wish for. The bed is of superior comfort and all of the other furnishings and soft fittings are of equally high standards and outstandingly tasteful. The owners are nearby and are very welcoming, reliable and helpful. It is possible to say that this is in a class by itself and to recommend it without hesitation or qualification. It deserves six stars!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D S
Augsburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2018 for a stay in November 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing