We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you see is what you get”

The French Connection
Ranked #11 of 84 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Matthew Gordon’s popular bistro in the heart of the Franschhoek village offers a relaxed culinary experience with top-quality French classics like slow-roasted crispy duck with raspberry vinegar jus; superb steaks (try the fillet mignon with three-mushroom sauce), plus the freshest fish and local produce. Friendly, informative staff ensure that French Connection remains one of the most popular stops in the ‘Gourmet Capital of the Cape’. American Express Platinum Fine Dining Award 2006–2012; Diners Club International Wine List Award 2011–2013; Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2012 & 2013.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We wanted a relaxed bistro evening with good food - and that's what we got at French Connection. The ambience is casual, the service is efficient and friendly and the food is excellent. The wine list is good … all in all, there's nothing to complain about!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

922 - 926 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was our third visit to Franschoek spread over many years and each time we have enjoyed French connection, so we booked in advance from uk for our first night. Tired as we were we wanted good unfussy food cooked well and that's what we got. Service prompt and friendly, and as we sat on the outside veranda we saw the light fade over the mountains with the old church in silhouette. Over the years however the road has got busier with huge lorries passing by.

Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Lovely relaxed and unassuming restaurant which served excellent food and wine. Great value considering the quality of the food on offer. Service was efficient and friendly.

Thank mancr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We hadn't booked having just arrived in Franschhoek. Met by friendly staff and shown a menu that offers something for everyone, daily specials and a comprehensive wine list. We all enjoyed our different food choices, the wine was excellent and the bill was modest. We're in Franschhoek for a while and will return to the French Connection.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NickandMaretha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This used to be a nice place, and although the ambience on the stoop is still nice, the food and service was now sub-standard. We were here now with four business friends from overseas and had counted on a nice experience, but we had a tough T-bone steak, an overcooked dry chicken and rather boring calamari. But when you are bringing friends in you hesitate to make a scene by sending food back. But worst was the very poor service. The staff have always been a bit arrogant here, but now bordering to being unfriendly.

3  Thank C-and-T-swallows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at The French Connection, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear C and-T Swallows

I’m sorry to hear your meal with us recently was not up to standard. We have a simple Bistro menu which usually goes down very well. It’s unfortunate that you did not complain or send back your food at the time, giving us an opportunity to make sure you had a great meal and left happy. I know it can be awkward to send food back, but if we didn’t get it right first time we would like to have sorted out the issue. I would like to get some more detailed information on your experience with us, particularly about service. I would appreciate it if you would send me your e mail address so I can get a better understanding of your meal with us. My apologies your experience was not up to standard.

Regards

Matthew Gordon
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Connection also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to The French Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing