We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great care and service”

The French Connection
Ranked #9 of 76 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Matthew Gordon’s popular bistro in the heart of the Franschhoek village offers a relaxed culinary experience with top-quality French classics like slow-roasted crispy duck with raspberry vinegar jus; superb steaks (try the fillet mignon with three-mushroom sauce), plus the freshest fish and local produce. Friendly, informative staff ensure that French Connection remains one of the most popular stops in the ‘Gourmet Capital of the Cape’. American Express Platinum Fine Dining Award 2006–2012; Diners Club International Wine List Award 2011–2013; Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2012 & 2013.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great care and service”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had dinner here our first night in town. We had made a late reservation but stopped by earlier to see if they could squeeze us in and they did, within 5 minutes. It was great. Two different people stopped by to check on our meal (not wait staff, I think managers or hosts). The steaks were great but nothing out of the ordinary if you've had great steak. Also a good wine list so worth checking out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    617
    580
    147
    46
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice handy restuarant in Main Rd”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a lovely evening at this restaurant. Service was very slick. Food delicious especially the mushroom sauce on the steak. Met lovely people sitting next to us as the tables are close together. Recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ams255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Consistently good quality service and food”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I've been to Franschhoek 4 times over the years and every time I make a point of going back to the French Connection as they have great service and their food is consistently good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimR04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The only one available that day”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I spent a whole morning try to book a table in any of the best restaurants in Franschoek and this was the only one.
Not bad but not at the same level that Le Monnex or Le Petit Ferme.
Good food, not expensive.
the place have a "Plaza" behind recommended if you go with kids.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“NICE PLACE and VERY GOOD FOOD”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our first dinner in Franschhoek after driving from Knysna and the French Connection did not disappoint. Outside seating looked OK but preferred out table just inside the restaurant -if you are in the back, it can get get quite hot with the open cooking area. A wide choice on the menu with an excellent well priced wine list. I had the Karoo Lamb and my wife the Kudu -both were cooked to perfection as were the veggies.Portions are hearty as was the pinotage -nice combination. Service was prompt and friendly. A Bistro feel about it. A nice place to eat, the food is very good and at a very acceptable price ( nothing quite like exchange rates).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrzej116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Connection also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to The French Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing