We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent atmosphere and food.”
Review of Bread and Wine

Bread and Wine
Ranked #11 of 79 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Bread & WInes is home to Neil Jewells' interesting and local food with a personal twist. Enjoy either 2 or 3 courses from his eclectic every changing menu. Neil's Charcuterie is not to be missed.Beautiful courtyard setting, delicious food and child friendly.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere and food.”
Reviewed February 21, 2011

This is the second year we have been to Bread and Wine and could not fault it at all.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaMac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    181
    62
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We really enjoyed a lunch here. The meats and other dishes are outstanding.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boxman266a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“How Many Times Can We Eat Here During 2 Week Trip?”
Reviewed January 30, 2011

The answer...3. I had a long list of restaurants to try in the Cape Town area, but we kept sneaking away for lunch at Bread and Wine over and over again during our 2 week trip last October. I usually try to list every last item we ordered in restaurant reviews, but I'm pretty sure we eventually tried everything on the menu and can't find one thing we wouldn't order again. I would recommend starting with their charcuterie platter which is fantastic. They also had a potato ravioli which was just incredible. We were fighting for the last bite. Their premium chardonnay became a quick favorite of mine from the wine list, while my husband who prefers reds kept coming back to "Miss Molly in My Bed." The shock we kept experiencing was the bill... a meal like this in our area (New England, USA) would be several hundred dollars. Our bill never topped the equivalent of $70 and we were drinking. Enjoy the beautiful property and food!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rlg1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Franschhoek”
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We eat here regularly because we just love the food (thanks to Neil Jewell, a stunningly good chef), the cool breezes under the trees and trellis especially on a boiling hot day, the wonderful front of house led by the charming Tina (and Beatrice, our favourite waitress). Please visit this gorgeous place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franschhoekfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
674 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Stop”
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We just ate hear at lunch time whilst on a visit of the winery. We had a cheese platter and a cold meat platter and they where excellent - washed down with a glass of red from the Moreson brewery.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread and Wine also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Bread and Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing