We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing place for lunch”
Review of Bread and Wine

Bread and Wine
Ranked #11 of 79 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Bread & WInes is home to Neil Jewells' interesting and local food with a personal twist. Enjoy either 2 or 3 courses from his eclectic every changing menu. Neil's Charcuterie is not to be missed.Beautiful courtyard setting, delicious food and child friendly.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A relaxing place for lunch”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place is so popular that we had to ask our hotel to book the place for us in order to get in. The atmosphere is very relaxing and it is a great place to enjoy food with friends. We love the fact that no smoking is allowed both indoor and outdoor so makes the whole dinning experience much nicer. Food wise, their menu has a lot of good food to choose from. We especially enjoyed the 3 yrs old prosciutto and figs which was really delicious. Main was not bad but the risotto was a bit too cheesy with the truffle oil that was a bit overpowering the flavor. The outdoor setting really makes lunch at Bread and Wine a lovely experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angieyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    181
    62
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“The name says it all”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a table outside under the pergola on another beautiful day in The Cape.

You can trying wine tasting at the table, which was a good way to start, as we did not know the wines on the list.

Fresh warm bread to begin, and then a charcuterie platter to share with loads of variety. The main courses were a bit of a let down. Very good, but not excellent.

I would suggest that you order several sharing platters, a few glasses/bottles of wine, and enjoy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Place rather than food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you can get a table outside on a nice day then I would highly recommend this place. Inside is interesting but nothing to shout about. The food and service are good but not exceptional. Not sure why this is number 1 in Franschoek as others are better for food, but it can't be beaten for a lunch under the trees on a nice day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EDED084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lovely place to lunch under the trees but not overly impressed by the food - however may well have chosen badly. Staff were very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Shady, relaxed summer lunch”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The food is excellent, so is the service. But the best thing about this place is the outdoor seating under the trees on a warm afternoon. Moreson produces some delicious South African cap classique wines that accompany the varied menu well. The dishes are prepared with a light hand - even the red meat dishes are well balanced without feeling skimpy.
This was my third visit and I enjoyed it every time. This time we had oysters to start - prepared with a sauv blanc sorbet dressing that might not be to everyone's taste (we enjoyed the refreshing tang), mussels (just a little too much butter), loin of lamb (rare and juicy), beef (ditto) and a variety of sweets with coffee. Miss Molly and her pink cousin (bubblies) were constant companions.
Easily repeatable on a weekly basis, but must remember to book!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jozisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread and Wine also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Bread and Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing