We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fulfilling Creativity”
Review of Bread and Wine

Bread and Wine
Ranked #8 of 76 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Bread & WInes is home to Neil Jewells' interesting and local food with a personal twist. Enjoy either 2 or 3 courses from his eclectic every changing menu. Neil's Charcuterie is not to be missed.Beautiful courtyard setting, delicious food and child friendly.
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fulfilling Creativity”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

One of the best lunches you will find in the town of Franschhoek. Very creative menu but good portions, incredible quality and superb service. Situated in the Moreson vineyard make sure you push the boat out and order a bottle of Magia with your Botswanan beef.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    180
    61
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whittlesea, South Africa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“DO BOTH”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

It says Bread and Wine. You gotta do both. A special place to eat in its own world with Moreson's premium chardonnay to go! WOW!!! We never leave Franschhoek without a Moreson visit and some Moreson wines.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingWriter001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Deserving of Long Leasurely Lunches”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Worthy of all the hype you read, Bread and Wine is one of the most romantic places I've ever had lunch. From the freshest of home-made breads and condiment to the absolutely freshest of fresh ingredients in every dish, it is an absolute celebration of Life in its purest form. We did not have a reservation and were very very thankful for the accommodation of the staff to fit us in. The orchard nursery next door is a great touch and expect to go home with groceries from the delightful farm shop.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LEILANE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dish of the trip”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

So we have visited Moreson and Bread and Wine on a previous holiday and wanted to pop back. It was even better the second time. The Moreson fizz is really delicious. We stayed for lunch in the lovely outdoor restaurant and my other half had the best dish of our two week trip. Pan fried piping hot Hake with a very light curried sauce/cream, smokey lentils and tempura green beans. It was amazing - very light but so tasty. I had serious Food Envy that day! I had trout which was also lovely but not as memorable as the hake. The only downside was they ran out of oysters. the bread and oil was also lovely.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsFoodEnvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant & excellent wine tasting!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband & I came here for a lovely lunch, food & wine both absolutely wonderful, it was unfortunately raining outside so we sat indoors which was still great, really relaxed atmosphere but top class service! We cycled in & the staff very kindly looked after our bikes & even kept them dry for us, all staff here are super friendly.

Menu is very varied, food was high end with excellent flavors & fresh ingredients, we opted for the wine tasting selection with lunch which was a great way to try a bit of everything, strongly recommend the Miss Molly bubbles too, so light & crisp!

The sun did eventually come out so we spent the rest of the afternoon in the outside seating area tasting even more fabulous wines with wonderfully kitsch names!! The mountain backdrop & beautiful vines make for a very romantic setting.

This was definitely one of my favorite winery/ lunch experiences in Franschhoek & all for such a reasonable price!
Highly recommend & would absolutely return!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Horton-Clarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread and Wine also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Bread and Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing