We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the pinotage!”
Review of Bread and Wine

Bread and Wine
Ranked #8 of 78 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Bread & WInes is home to Neil Jewells' interesting and local food with a personal twist. Enjoy either 2 or 3 courses from his eclectic every changing menu. Neil's Charcuterie is not to be missed.Beautiful courtyard setting, delicious food and child friendly.
Munich
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Try the pinotage!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Enjoy a lazy lunch / afternoon with a great choice of food and the best possible wine to go with it.

I kept 2 bottles of Pinotage 2008 until this year from the last trip. But mind you: Take the first sip and you're done for. Addictive stuff :).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hello-Ms-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    180
    61
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A lovely spot”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Bread and Wine feels like a deli with a restaurant attached. So the food has an emphasis on the fresh (charchuterie and cheese) and simple (pasta). It was all lovely and the ingredients were perfect.

Special mention must go to the wine choices - this was particularly good value with a R30 flight (3 small glasses) a great way to try Moreson's wines while eating (more of the vineyards should do this!). Additionally, they had a kids play area (a corner with games etc) - a great distraction and a plus for any exhausted parent.

In all honesty, I am not absolutely sure why 4* (and not 5) - but it was probably because we had slightly better food in slightly better surroundings, so had to differentiate. But we'd encourage you to visit - particularly if you want good food served unadulterated.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank APURKISS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarin, Black River, Mauritius
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little Deli”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We didnt actually eat at the restaurant but visited the wine tasting room and stopped at the deli next to the restaurant. It had been recommended to us for great charcuterie and we were not disappointed. Great biltong! Also picked up some lovely foodie items like jams and nougat etc as thank you gifts for friends.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kerin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have been to Bread and Wine many times in past visits to Franschhoek. We are never disappointed. Our most recent lunch consisted of the West Coast oysters with a Chenin sorbet and fennel, and the deconstructed beet salad with whipped chevre and lightly toasted watercress. We've both eaten oysters in many places and in many styles but this was delightful. The sorbet and fennel complemented the oysters beautifully; a real taste of the ocean with mineral highlights and a touch of sweet and herb. The salad was fantastic - the best beet salad I've had in a very long time. Had a wine flight too, which is a handy thing to do if you want to have a selection of Moreson wines. Hats off to B&W, as always a great lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krisztinav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“So good we had to come back”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We had lunch here one day and the oysters were so good that we had to return the next day for more. The oysters were dressed with a delicious Chenin Blanc sorbet, green onions, and leeks - they were amazing!
The breads are delicious and the garden patio setting is a lovely touch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread and Wine also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Bread and Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing