We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bread and olive oil”
Review of Bread and Wine

Bread and Wine
Ranked #8 of 75 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bread & WInes is home to Neil Jewells' interesting and local food with a personal twist. Enjoy either 2 or 3 courses from his eclectic every changing menu. Neil's Charcuterie is not to be missed.Beautiful courtyard setting, delicious food and child friendly.
Kendal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bread and olive oil”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Select your bread and relax with dipping oil in a lovely setting. We visited on a morning cycle route and too early for a meal and wine with the kilometres and wineries planned for the rest of the day. Breakfast food looked very good. Will have to return later for the wine!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank cumbriansKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    178
    61
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Light lunch in the sun before wine tasting”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Located at the Moreson vineyard we stopped for a light lunch before doing some wine tasting.
We chose our loaf of bread, which was sliced for us and served with some cold meats, olives, salad and balsamic dressing.
Very simple but very tasty and filling.
We ended up leaving a fair bit of the bread as there was so much.

We sat in the sun enjoying our meal with the sound or a trickling stream in the background with little frogs ribbiting.

All very pleasant and relaxing.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank RhianyddS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Super place to enjoy some of the local wine and a nice platter of local food. we washed it down with a bottle of bubbly!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Balls99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing & affordable.”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

One of our favourite spots we ate at in South Africa

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank dgaronce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charcuterie Delight!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Wonderful outdoor setting, with a great buzz. We are long standing fans and were not disappointed this time around. I greatly enjoyed the charcuterie board as always and my wife took advantage of the broadened al a carte menu. Little touches, such as the smoked butter and great pate add to the great experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToffeeDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread and Wine also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Bread and Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing