We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made our Honeymoon Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Made our Honeymoon Special”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

From the warm, friendly welcome at reception, including clear information about services and local amenities to the painless check-out the staff were some of the best we met the whole 2 weeks of our holiday. The room was not the most expensive we rented, but the treat of flower petals in bedroom and bath, flowers, bubbly and chocolates and splendid grounds well looked after combined with a real sense of pride in the hotel and town made us so comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinandsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    167
    56
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
231
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberton, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2010

All staff were extremely friendly in comparison to other hotels I have stayed at, including overseas. As I have a Gold Prokard and used it at breakfast on the day of my birthday the diningroom staff noticed the date of the birth on the card. I was "royally" treated by them with surprises which truly made the day!

The hotel is centrally situated for shopping for curios, home made chocolates, restaurants etc. It is a short distance to drive to wine farms and to travel to other Western Cape areas. The 4 mountain passes and other passes are nearby as well as the N1. An ideal central hotel to travel out each day sightseeing or visits by day or night to nearby large towns.

I fully recommend a stay at the Protea Franschhoek whether for leisure or business. The scenery is superb and provides great relaxation.

George Wright

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Thanks for the hospitality. We enjoyed staying there. A lovely hotel with very very friendly and helpful staff. Wish we could stay there for our entire holiday.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pieter_venter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2010

The rose petals in the bath and the little bottle of champagne were a lovely touch for our Anniversary stay. We will definitely stay at the hotel again. Lovely setting and friendly staff. Quiet as well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavvyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We spent 2 days at the Protea Hotel and we were delighted with all aspects. Friendly, helpful staff. Fantastic breakfast. Large comfortable rooms situated around a very pleasant pool area. Franschhoek is a beautiful place, definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaH1552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

This was a last minute decision, third hotel we tried driving between Stellenbosch and Franshhoek. It is strange haggling over price in a hotel of this quality, but it seems the done thing in South Africa!

The location is fantastic, i wanted to be able to wander down the main street and choose a nice restaurant based on Menus, rather than be stuck with the only restaurant in walking distance, and the Protea gave that along with nice rooms and a pool catching the sun until late.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

I literally just checked into this hotel and instantly regretted it. Our friends received their room for R824 and, when I asked if we could stay too, their answer was that room rates were strictly R1300. I declined. Later when we dropped off our friends I again asked about the rate for the evening. The lady told me that R1300 was the only price. I pointed out that my friends were paying a much lower rate. The lady at the front desk then told me the 'rates change hourly.'

At this point I declined again and walked to my friend's room where I got a call from the front desk saying they could give me my friend's rate after all. Now I'm sitting in a tiny room with a view of the street (the other rooms are pool view and much larger) for over $120 per night!!! I cannot believe it. The good thing is that we are at least close to our good friends. I have been traveling all over South Africa and have stayed at some amazing places...the last place we stayed was a two bedroom/two bathroom beachfront apartment for the same price (Lagoon Beach Apartments was incredible! Great service too.)!!!

Price aside, I cannot believe the service. As a travel journalist, I will never, ever recomment this hotel to anyone personally or in any of my articles.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Address: 33 Huguenot Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing